The hand of God…

I arrived into Detroit at 5pm. At 6pm, I drove out of the log with a 4Wheel drive Jeep Liberty. The next 2 hours to Lansing were the most harrowing that I have had in the last 15 years, including Hurricane Ike. I drove out of the lot into a main roadway that had 1.5 feet (yes feet) of snow on it. The storm was so hard that the road workers couldn’t keep up with it. I then got on the interstate I-92 and I went a whopping 35 miles an hour with the Jeep in 4High. When I hit the ramp from I92 to I275, there was a wall of unplowed snow that was about 2 feet deep. I felt that my best option was to hammer down the gas and just get through it. I did fine. The rest of the drive was much the same until I was at grandpas house. A drive that took 1 hour under the best of circumstances, was a 2.5 hour white knuckle experience.
 
Once there I was able to sit and talk with grandpa and hold his hand. He still looked good, although his belly was gettin’ bigger and bigger from the leaking blood into his abdomen.They asked me if I wanted alone time with Grandpa and I said that I already had alone time with grandpa on the phone and I fowled it up, so I would just sit next to him and hold his hand. I loved him and he knew that and that was all I had to say. That was something that I could say in front of everyone.
 
This morning I woke up to hear that grandpa had passed at 6am and now he was in heaven. I was happy, blessed and glad that God got me there so that I could be with him in his last hours. What a complete and utter blessing.
 
Thank you all for being the dear friends that you are. I am not sad so much as happy that Grandpa is somewhere where he can walk fine and has no pain and ailment. He was a very good man and knew how to live life with out all the complexities that we like to place in our lives now. I’m grateful that I’m able to be here for his funeral.
 
I will keep you posted and Thank you very much for the love you have bestowed on me!
— Fizz–
© "Fizz" 2008
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The hand of God…

  1. Cat says:

    Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep…Do not stand at my grave and weep. I am not there. I do not sleep.I am a thousand winds that blow.I am the diamond glint on snow. I am the sunlight on ripened grain. I am the gentle autumn rain.When you wake in the morning hush I am the swift, uplifting rush of quiet birds in circling flight.I am the soft starlight at night. Do not stand at my grave and weep. I am not there. I do not sleep. Anonymous,

    Like

  2. Happy JAK says:

    Hello Fizz – I was just space hopping really but your blog stopped me in my tracks. On one hand I feel completely numb and on the other hand God is AWESOME! I’m so glad you were able to hold your Grandpa’s hand and tell him you loved him before he left to be with the Lord. Heavenly Father, I pray that you will give Fizz the strength and comfort she needs particularly in her time of grief and I pray for other family members and friends who also mourn your Grandpa’s passing. In Jesus’ name. Amen. God bless you Fizz. xoxo Love Kerrie

    Like

  3. bamacatlover says:

    Fizz, you’re a very courageous young lady and I’m glad you got to be with your Grandpa. God bless you on your trip back home, hugs,

    Like

  4. Patty says:

    Welcome to Michigan’s Winter weather…boy I bet you have missed it…Lots of snow everywhere….So be careful and bundle up and keep warm..Sad to hear about your grandpa but I know what you mean in a better place…I am so happy that you both got to talk before he passed on/You have a wonderful Christmas here in the winterwonderland called Michigan

    Like

  5. Joe says:

    You never cease to bless me Juli, I’m so glad that you were able to make it no matter what was thrown against you. I think that you’re absolutely right about where your grandpa is and what a comfort that is! I’m very thankful to know you and blessed that things turned out as well as they did, God bless you my friend.

    Like

  6. Teri says:

    Big hugs going to you!! Your Grandpa is in his heavenly home!God Bless!Teri

    Like

  7. Rusty says:

    Hi Juli: What a beautiful grand daughter to want to be there for your Grandpa, he knew it and he waited for you so that was good. God bless you dear and may you have peace now knowing he is free from pain and in a good and beautiful place. My thoughts are with you. Have a blessed Christmas with those you love……………Rusty ((HUGS))

    Like

  8. Babblelot says:

    I was praying your flight got there on time and then wondered if someone was picking you up. 4WD Jeep, good choice! Oh man from Texas and the hurricane to a couple of feet of snow. You have guts and allot of courage my girl and I must say I jist knew you could handle anything thrown in front of you. You did it white knuckles an all. I’m so proud of you girly. So glad Grandpa hung on till you got there and had a visit. Sounds like he was a good man an lived life the way he wanted. Take this time to be with all your family there and cherish them. Thanks for posting and letting us know. Your in my prayers girly. HUGS!

    Like

  9. JoAnn says:

    Juli, I’m so glad you were able to be with grandpa and hold his hand during his final hours. You and yours are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  10. Ann says:

    I’m glad you were able to be there for some special time togethr with your grandpa. You made a heroic effort. Good for you.Best,Nan

    Like

  11. Beth says:

    Oh dear Juli, I am so glad you made it there in time to be with your grandpa in his last hours. You are right, he is in a better place now and he is happy! You remain in my prayers.Love,Beth

    Like

Care to Comment?