Sad Christmas

I am on my way out of town tomorrow on Family Emergency. Grandpa Stoneburner (Not Papa) has an aneurysm in his belly that is leaking and will rupture. It is non-operable. He is dying.

After much brow beating, I have gotten a flight tomorrow, rather than my original Dec 26th flight, in First Class for a reasonable rate. I may make it before he dies. I’ll be there at about 7:30 and he may live for 72 hours, but I expect him to go tomorrow night. I pray to God it will be the painless way.

I have talked to him and I really did cry. Who wants to see a loved one move on when they could be there with you?

God blessed me with the right things happening for me at the right time. Christmas will never be the same. So sad.

I will write short blogs on the road from my phone and keep you posted.I have to take care of Mom, she needs me now.

I wish you all a blessed and happy Christmas. Please pray for my Grandpa so that he may be embraced by God.

— Fizz —

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sad Christmas

  1. Beth says:

    Juli dear, I am so sorry to hear this news. I have just sent a prayer up for your grandfather and for you to have a safe trip. God will be waiting to welcome him home and I feel in my heart that you will be there in tine to tell him goodbye. God Bless you both.

    Like

  2. Babblelot says:

    Oh sweet Juli your Grandpa and you and family are in my deepest prayers my girl. Have a safe trip. Please be careful the weather is nasty icy. I’m so sorry. There maybe delays but be sure to know your grandpa knows you are coming home and that thought alone will give him peace and love. God Bless.

    Like

  3. maillady says:

    My prayers to you and for your grandfather.

    Like

  4. Cynical says:

    I am so sorry to read this, especially after your Christmas letter post. You and your family will be in my thoughts and hopes. You are right when you say that Christmas will never be the same. Try to associate good memories of your loved ones with the holiday. I know there will be bad ones, but as soon as you recognize that a bad one is present, deliberately think of a good one about the same person to replace it. That’s hard to do immediately, but over time it eventually makes memories better.Peace, Doc

    Like

  5. Rusty says:

    Aww, sweetheart, so sorry to hear that. I will keep you both in my prayers. Be strong and look after your Mom. Hang in there dear as your Grandpa wouldn’t want you to be sad for too long. God just needs another angel, look at it that way. Take care hun and God bless…………..Rusty ((HUGS))

    Like

  6. Leona says:

    I am so sorry to hear this sad news. I hope you have a safe trip and that this is not too too hard for you and your mom. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  7. Mountain says:

    So sorry Fizz, do what you can and remember to take care of yourself also. My thoughts and prayers are with you. PennyB

    Like

  8. kïrstin says:

    im really sorry sweetie. (((hug)))kïrstin♥

    Like

  9. JoAnn says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this, Juli. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. Soft hugs

    Like

  10. Teri says:

    Fizz! – I am so very sorry for your loss! Grandpa will be met at the gates of heaven with an embrace never known before! And I send special hugs your way. God Bless!Teri

    Like

  11. Ann says:

    Your grandfather will feel your and everyone’s love. Know that he’s wrapped in the arms of God who is caring for him right now. God’s comfort will be with you all.Best,Nan

    Like

  12. Cindy says:

    So sorry Fizz…you and your family will be in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  13. Shelly says:

    Fizz, I’m so sorry for your Grandfathers illness. I will pray for you and him. Please tell me you are not coming to Michigan!! The snow here is unbelievable right now. And it’s not stopping for a long time!! Take care be safe.xoxoxome

    Like

  14. Joe says:

    My dear friend suffered this just a few years ago, it was a very, very near thing. I’m very sorry about this Juli and will really pray for you, grace to you

    Like

  15. dreamingtree says:

    Juli-You and your family will be in my thoughts and in my prayers . I am so sorry jules, if there is anything I can do , please let me know . Eventhough I am far away I send my love to you and your family during this difficult time. I wish you a merry christmas and a very blessed new year !

    Like

  16. Babblelot says:

    I came back to say I hope you are alright and to see if you posted.Take care sweet pea!

    Like

  17. GreatGranny says:

    I’m behind here, haven’t been on a lot lately. I’m sorry about your Grandpa and yall will be in my prayers. Blessings to yall, hugs, Ann

    Like

Care to Comment?

