Another Job Hunt

Having a degree in Geophysics has been something I’ve been extremely proud of since my graduation. It was a huge accomplishment and not at all easy to get. Some of the hardest classes were Quantum Physics & Fourier Series.

Having a degree in Geophysics has also been something that has caused me the greatest heartache since my graduation. The Energy industry is extremely fickle. Some don’t realise how fickle… On March 31, I was unemployed for the 4th time in my career. Let me tell you that it does not get any easier with practice. In fact, though I pride myself on not having my self worth wrapped up in my job, the constant rejection is nearly overwhelming. I can assure you, it doesn’t matter how much the give you at the good by party, it’s not nearly enough to over come the rejection. I am so lucky to have Papa and the dogs… They really have been my saving grace. I’ve been able to keep away from the dark thoughts that plague me in this uncertain time. 

But always, there is hope on the horizon in the form of another job opportunity. I’m not going to count my chickens before they hatch. I will say that I am going to a second interview to an investment bank where they help companies who are going to purchase data and other companies have an unbiased opinion of the data and reserves the company to be purchased. It is contract, but that is actually a good thing. I will be responsible for my own healthcare and I will be able to deduct my mileage, auto payments miles to work and healthcare just to name a few. I’m hopeful. I got for my final interview tomorrow and have been told I’m the only candidate to have gotten that far. It’ll also be a bit different as I’ll be the data majordomo and I’ll have the opportunity to set the standards that the data will be implemented into the software.

So, tomorrow is a new day. I’m not James Bond but may feel like one by the end of the day. 

Fizz

© 2015 All Rights Reserved.

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

Care to Comment?

