What WAS I thinking…

I don’t know where my head was! What with work being really super busy & having a bit of Brain Fog from the fibro, I was totally befuddled.

Saturday, I had a craving for my usual Kettle Chips with Sea Salt and a bit of HEB French Onion chip dip. All my live I’ve had a craving for chips and dip. As a wee child, I was known to eat an entire bag of chips and an entire tub of dip in under 10 minutes. Anyway, I’m digressing, really.

So, anyway, when I went to the Fridge, I noted that the date on the tub of French Onion Dip was March 28th. In my head, I some how deduced that this tub of French Onion dip was one month out of date.

Figuring that my tub of dip was a bust, I moved onto the tub’s, yes there were two of them, of Sour Cream. Both of these tubs were also March 28, which my brain again thought was one month out of date for the worse. Finally, I looked at my Organic Orange Juice and behold that it was also dated March 28.

The end result of this was that they were all tossed into the trash, lock stock and barrel. I mentioned to papa that the containers were dated March 28 and that I threw them all out. He said that it was strange that they were out of date, since he was always careful. This is something I knew, as he was a dairy delivery person when he was in high school.

Now, you can see where I went wrong, yes? You’re quite right, March does not come before February, so that when I tossed all those tubs of food as being out of expiration date, they really were not out of date at all, as the expiration date was a full month away. It didn’t dawn on Papa until Monday that my brain was off kilter and that March hadn’t begun yet. 

Once Papa brought it up, I knew right off that March followed February, not preceded it. What a scatter brain!! It’s funny, all in all, but a little irritating at the money I wasted. No harm no foul, but still!

Our oldest Greyhound, Big Dog is close to being gone now. She’s suffering from Kidney Failure, which at least is not painful in the least for her (thank God) She’s as thin as a dog can get, much thinner than she was when we first got her (which is truly saying something as I didn’t think she could possibly be any thinner) and getting up and down is quite a trial. Her backend just isn’t working right and she’s wobbly all over. Her balance is nearly non-existent and she sleeps all day long, only awake for an hour or two in total all day.

I shall truly miss her. She’s a good dog. You don’t get a better disposition in a dog and she has eyes that you can see right into her heart and soul. She’s gentle, graceful and loving. After 10 years together, it’s going to be tuff for us. We do have another greyhound, a girl also, who is a tank. Oh, and stupid. Miss Big Doggy is so terribly smart, which is one of her best features.

We will have her cremated and we have a lovely doggy urn for her ashes. But it won’t be the same…. This is the circle of life, I know, but that doesn’t make it any easier. I’m thankful that she knows I love her…

I’m thankful to have had her a part of my life, she’s made me a better person!

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2011

 

 

 

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What WAS I thinking…

  1. Joe says:

    I’ve certainly done things like that with throwing something away and then wondering what on earth was I thinking later. Mostly I’ve done that with milk..it does suck since with prices as they are that darn stuff is white gold but you’re right that it could have been much worse. So sorry about your dog. I know that pain since I’ve been a dog owner for much of my life. I hate the end of things so badly. Now that I travel as much as I do I don’t own pets at all anymore…I miss that part of my life. Bless you Juli.

    Like

Care to Comment?

