Dang… a girl can’t get a break…

Yep…. I’m alive. I know you’re wondering. I’m just laying low… Last week I had the most horrible test on my nerves… it’s called a ‘Nerve Conductivity’ test… and it tests the conductivity of your nerves to the spine based on several pressure points. Another name for it could be ‘Torture’, or better yet ‘archaic out dated psychological testing’. And guess how they do that?

Well, they shock you.

No foolin’. I spent 2 hours being shocked with a device that looks like a tazer, sounds like a tazer & is a tazer, but delivers milli-volts rather than regular old volts. It was exceedingly uncomfortable. By the time it was over, I was punchy and very close to loosing my cheer. I do not like being rude to people who are running tests on me, because I know they’re trying to make me better. In this case, I’d reached the limit of what I was willing to tolerate.

I still have bruises… and I was completely off kilter the day after. My balance was completely wacked because I’d spent 2 hours the day before being shocked. Each limb was done and there were several pressure points and of course the dood couldn’t get it right so he had to do it multiple times… Honestly… How many times do you have to shock me before you decide the nerve isn’t behaving right?? Good Grief!

The day after that? My muscles went into total and complete revolt. I ended up have some serious muscle spasms all up and down my spine, but mostly at my bra line. Also, there are 2 new spots that have burning sensations on my skin… one is my left under arm just below my elbow and the other is on my right leg just above my ankle… that’s in addition to the area just over my stomach… I have minimal to no feeling in each of those spots with the exception of the burning… horary for more ‘fun’ stuff….

I get the results on Wed… I know that the Tech said that I had several nerves with poor results, so I’m expecting it to be interesting….

Then, when I thought I was over it all on Friday… I went shopping and ended up almost keeling over in my most favorite store… L’Occitane… one of the ladies that was pointing me in the right direction grabbed me with both hands and shouted… ‘Not in this store’ which got me out of the dizzy spiral. I went home, napped and did feel a little better.

Saturday… well there was a tone of excitement in the neighborhood when a house down the street went up in flames… all told I counted 4 pumper trucks, 2 ladder trucks, 4 ambulances and a bunch of cops… I drove by there this evening and it looks like it might have been the fireplace… that side of the house is the side was charred and open to the elements. I told papa that I was really, really glad that he’s so fastidious about the A/C, Heat & Fireplace maintenance… every year he has them serviced whether they need it or not. When he was a boy, Papa’s house burned down so he’s totally afraid of fire. His family was poor (it was the great depression after all) and they had egg warmers and chick hatchers so that they could sell baby chicks… well it shorted out and their house burned down… they lost everything… I think he was like, 10 years old.

So that’s my life. We’re getting prepared for the holiday. As usual, it’s just Papa and I so we’re going to lay low. He found a macaroni & cheese recipe that is just fantastically amazing… so he’ll be making that… and mashed taters and yams and cranberries… I hate turkey, so he’s getting some thickly sliced Ham and we’ll be good to go.

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Health and wellness, Me... Because it's all about Me! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dang… a girl can’t get a break…

  1. Joe says:

    I’m surprised they didn’t go ahead and put you in an iron maiden to make the tests complete…ugh! Those sound like some serious trials and tribulations Julie. I hope you have a peaceful holiday…maybe that will help. We’re the opposite of you here and are turkey people so that’s the route we’ll be going. I am pretty stoked for another mission trip that we have in the works. It’s looking like Europe and Asia are in the works now. Bless you my friend.

    Like

  2. technogran1 says:

    Electric shocks! You did well to survive it all.

    Like

Care to Comment?

