Life, imitating life, imitating life, imitating nightmare reality…

This week has been a nightmare. It’s been my nightmare reality.

First, last Friday, I took my oldest doggie to the vet. You all know Big Dog, my sensitive girl, my caring girl, my emotional girl.

DSCN0071

She’s had kidney problems her whole life. The theory behind this is that her original owner, the one who raced her, tried to kill her chemically. They failed, which was how she ended up at the Houston Greyhound Pets Association animal shelter. So, these number are something we’ve been keeping track of.

At the last physical, her numbers had elevated. They had held constant for many years, heck she’s 11 & we got her at 3, so she’s been living with this for all this long with no trouble whatsoever. This change indicates she’s starting the decline into the eternal sleep. She’ll likely be gone by Christmas. I truly hope not, I (and Papa) adore this dog… it’s breaking my heart.

This is imitating live because 2 of my mom’s dogs, thought younger, died of the same affliction.

Today, I found out that my Mom went to the ER last night because she felt terrible. Her knee that had been reconstructed over 2 years ago, was swollen and very infected. it turns out that the knee was the least of her worries. Her kidneys were starting to fail because of the infection. She was on the verge of dialysis. Had she delayed even 24 hours, she’d got to the eternal sleep herself.

That’s life imitating life imitating life.

On Tuesday afternoon I started to get a severe pain in my neck radiating down my right arm. I went home early. I was in such agony, I didn’t go in Wednesday either. Thursday I was better enough to function. Barely. And today I’m better yet, but going to the Dr. to talk about a new muscle relaxer and talk about the possibility of the nerve root block.

That’s my life imitating a nightmare reality.

My day has been a whirlwind so far, calls from Auntie, calls from Gramma, calls to Auntie, calls to Gramma… it’s exhausting. I think I’m going to get back from my Dr appointment and lay down.

Papa has been a real dream through this whole thing.

I’m telling you… something about 10.10.10 week that has caused things to be wacky!

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Health and wellness, Me... Because it's all about Me! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life, imitating life, imitating life, imitating nightmare reality…

  1. Rocket Man says:

    Hope the doctor can come up with something for you. I’ve had far too many of them say “Let’s try this and see what happens.” These days if they don’t say “This will work.” I’m not interested.

    Sorry to hear about Big Dog. Losing a faithful friend is always terrible. I know the time will come one day for Sam and I think I’m dreading that more that my own death.

    Like

  2. oohhhh im soo sorry about big dog! ;( thats so hard! and your mom! im glad she went when she did … probably had that infection a while longer than she knew.
    may everything turn upward now, and have peace that passes understanding.
    k☼

    Like

Care to Comment?

