Reveille 4:15 AM

    So… today Papa went in and had surgery on his knee, which was a partial knee replacement… Reveille was at 4:15 AM and off to the Hospital. Papa was in surgery by 7, out by 9 and after I got him settled in his room at 11, I cam home to give the doggies attention and love and also to try to take a nap between Sheila’s whining… I went back at 4:30 and stayed until 7:30. He looks great. I wasn’t worried, because he doesn’t look the 80 that he is. I love him so much and glad that he came thru it just fine.

Here he is before going in:

Papa_Before

Here he is after the surgery and a couple of hours of beauty rest, oh yeah, and 1/2 of a new knee:

Papa_After


     Here’s the latest on my friend who jumped to his death last Friday….

     The funeral mass was set for Saturday. I was surprised that they had one, as Suicide is an unforgivable sin. What I found out when I got there was that his father is big in the Knights of Columbus and he pulled a few strings to get the mass and the blessing of Chris’ ashes. So we go to mass, and I swear to god, it was the craziest funeral I have ever been to. I got there early. The wife was acting like a pageant queen accepting her crown. She was NOT acting like a bereaved wife but like someone who was glad he died.

     Through out the mass we were intoned to pray for Chris’ soul (which of course I would have done regardless). There was absolutely no mention whatsoever of the wife of Chris, only his father and mother were mentioned by the priest. She was introduced to the Priest at the end of the mass. AND, she did not take communion… and I know for a fact that she was also Catholic. The most interesting thing of all was that besides myself, and my two other friends from SMT, only his parents cried during the service. AND, the priest intoned that Chris knew who was there truly praying for him and who was there posing just to be seen. Seriously… freaking odd!

    I’m off. I’m pooped. Even with a nap, reveille of 4:15 will do you in….

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

 

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reveille 4:15 AM

  1. Joe says:

    What a day for you my friend. I’m so glad to hear your dad did so well…get well soon! I had a friend that had both knees totally replaced and I know that’s a big deal. You’re right about that being an odd funeral. I think under even the best circumstances such things are difficult but that sounds way weird.

    Like

  2. roketman says:

    What is it about surgical prep nurses making patients wear funny hats? Do you think they take photos once they knock the patient out and post them on a secret “Funniest Looking Patients” web site?

    On another note, I wonder how much the widow had to do with driving your friend to do what he did. It’s obvious she wasn’t fooling anyone present at the funeral, especially the priest.

    Like

  3. Beth Marie says:

    I am glad your grandfather is doing well!!
    I hope you can get some rest tonight.

    Like

Care to Comment?

