You have GOT to be kidding…

I was watching the news this evening when the newscaster stated that the British are upset with the US. Why? They’re upset because the president and Americans are exhibiting anti-British views and attitudes.

Yep. You read it right…. anti-British views and attitudes…

And how you may ask?

By being firm and coming down on BP in papers and in press conferences. Further, the comments and behavior are causing BP stock to tank, thus causing the suffering of British people by their losing money & personal investment.

OK… lemme say something here. I like British people. In general, I like them better than Americans. They’re tougher, they put up and shut up and basically they carry on in the face of adversity. But this… it’ pisses me off. Seriously pisses me off.

BP has earned every bit of harsh comments and criticism it’s gotten. It deserves more. Much more. An entire industry in this country has been ruined. An entire way of life has been destroyed. Wildlife is dying in droves and the fishing/clamming industry of the Gulf Coast region are ruined. Beaches and estuaries are trashed. The ecosystem of the Mississippi Delta is junked, possibly for forever.

I am so very angry, I feel like I could spit nails. Maybe our news agency got it wrong. But if not, let me be very, very clear. If the oil were washing up on the British Isles and their beaches and estuaries were destroyed and ruined, the company was an American owned company, well the British people would not hesitate one bit to criticize and demand answers and results. Retirements be damned. Oh the poor Americans, the darlings are so young and naive, they have no idea what’s important.

So… until folks have this type of thing happen to them, maybe they should just keep their mouth shut tight.

Sheesh!


OK… moving on before I completely come unglued…

You know… other than that… it’s a great day and has been an awesome week. My Fibro has been under control and the people in charge have been leaving me alone… so for the time being I’m doin’ ok.

I’m going to a birthday party tomorrow night. It’s cute… it’s an “Almost 30”  party. The darling gal is turning 26. Oh how I wish I could be 26 again!!! 🙂

Have a super weekend!!

Love y’all…

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Don't make me come over there and smack you!! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You have GOT to be kidding…

  1. Joe says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s something like that going on in England. I suppose there’s always things like this when tensions are as high as they are. America is in a terribly weakened possition these days which really doesn’t help either. Anyway, I’m sure glad that you’re feeling better and I hope you have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. Cass says:

    So THAT’S how they feel about us, is it? Even after that lame excuse about the oil spill being an accident?

    Look, when that meteor fell in Tunguska, Siberia on June 30, 1908 (it was a Tuesday) producing an explosion roughly 200 times more powerful than the atomic bomb that was dropped on Hirsohima…THAT was an accident.

    When Kratatoa (which, contrary to the title of the 1969 movie that starred Maximilan Schell and Brian Keith, is WEST of Java) exploded on August 27, 1883 (it was a Monday) and produced a sound that was was heard more than 3000 miles away.

    This was the day the earth SCREAMED.

    Volcanic dust blew into the upper atmosphere affecting incoming solar radiation and the earth’s weather for several years. (It got cooler). Also the sky was darker for many years—until 1888, in fact, when the ash finally settled.

    A series of large tsunami waves generated by the main explosion, some reaching a height of nearly 40 meters (more than 120 feet) above sea level, killed more than 36,000 people in the coastal towns and villages along the Sunda Strait on Java and Sumatra islands. Tsunami waves were recorded or observed throughout the Indian Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, the American West Coast, South America, and even as far away as the English Channel.

    THAT was an accident.

    But THIS!!!! This is ecoterrorism by the Brits. I mean…it’s obvious. And we know why. Look BP was founded in 1909 as the Anglo-PERSIAN Oil Company Limited. President Obama is threatening new sanctions againt Iran (the modern name for Persia). SUDDENLY this happens. Coincidence?
    And they claim they can’t stop it!!! They’ve been in th oil biz for over a hundred years and they don’t know how to plug a well?

    Or is this another attack. Are they plotting to poison and burn oour coast the way they once burned our capital (and the White House) on August 24, 1814. A Wednesday, it was. With just a touch of Autumn in the air…ah, how well I remember the panic and horror when the Redcoats under the command of General Ross (most folks called him Bobs)…ahem…but I digress.

    But oil IS flammable, is it not? And our British cousins seem to have a fondness for large fires, do they not?

    Have they turned against us, then and sided with Iran and is this the beginning of the end that will see its culmination in 2012.

    Of course not. It really was an accident and a damned bad one.

    But it sure was fun to rant for a bit there.

    Like

    • Fizz says:

      Girl… you and I are going to get along just time. I’m considered an “Oil Industry Insider” and have been commenting on The Huffington Post for weeks about this and how it’s NOT an accident.

      The O&G industry has been riding the golden horse for years. They firmly believe that the good old days (pre-1955) before regulation are the best ‘le days. There are plenty of good ol’ boys, the ones that also believe that women have no business in the industry, who will tell you that the environment is secondary to oil exploration and that environment and critters can “adapt” to their drilling techniques. (Yes, I’ve actually heard this come out of the mouths of the men I work with).

      I’m not even going to start on the whole “Clean” and “Environmentally friendly” modern drilling techniques.

      Cass… you and, we have the same thought process, I believe… Very nice to meet you!!

      Like

  3. Cass says:

    Nice to meet you too 🙂

    Like

Care to Comment?

