The kindness of a stranger…

Sheila, my black greyhound is a roamer at heart… she waits for the great escape… if we don’t remember to close the gate she’s gone in a flash. And, oh by the way, none of the rules apply out side of the fence and she no longer knows us! She’ll go up to a complete stranger, but us? Nope.

Normally she goes to the right, which is safe. It’s a subdivision. This time, she went to the left… that’s West Little York. That’s the main busy Bvld that goes East/West. Very busy at rush hour. Very dangerous for a doggy who doesn’t look both ways before crossing the road. Hell… last night when she was given a treat, she thought she’d all ready gotten the treat so she licked her chops and trotted off… it was totally funny… but that kinda dog doesn’t look both ways!

So.. I get a call from HomeAgain stating that someone has found my dog and she’s on West Little York. Holey Canoley! They patch the woman through. I’m trying like hell to get a hold of Papa on the landline in my office with no luck, it’s going to Voice Mail instantly. Finally, I just direct the woman to my house and have her walk right into my house from the back door and start hollerin’ for Papa. At which point, Sheila escaped again and Papa had to chase her with the SUV.

How wonderful of that woman to stop and save a strange dog. She had no idea if the dog was mean or harmful to people, but she stopped to help anyway. AND, when I tried to offer her something in way of thanks, she asked simply that I stop and render aid to a dog that has a collar. I do that already & I’ve no trouble doing it again.

So… all those coffee’s purchased for others paid off today. It’s a blessing Sheila didn’t get hit. She is not the sick dog, so it would have been doubly heartbreaking…

I hope someone does something nice for you… something totally unexpected… And, I hope you pay it forward!

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The kindness of a stranger…

  1. Babblelot says:

    Oh my gosh, what ah scare! Very nice lady to do that. God bless her.

    Like

  2. Joe says:

    Reciprocation is so rare these days. I mean you shouldn’t do something just expecting something in return but at the same time as you say paying things forward is a beautiful way to spread the joy and make someone else’s day. I’m so glad you got your dog back without a tragedy Juli!

    Like

  3. ROCKET says:

    This is so heart warming, Sam has mellowed with age to the point that he no longer bolts at every opportunity but when he spots a cat and isn’t on his lead he’s gone in a flash. All I have to do now is yell BAD DOG! and he instantly remembers he’s not supposed to be running loose, heads for the house and waits by the front door for someone to let him in so he can hide under the kitchen table until he’s forgiven.

    Like

  4. Rambling says:

    Holy cow..what an awful but great ending adventure! I would have had a danged heart attack!!! I hate the thought of a pet outside anywhere near traffic!I am so grateful for that lady who helped. Like you and she, and I’m sure many others, I would do the same. Dogs are just as important to me as cats so doesn’t matter the species. ♥

    Like

Care to Comment?

