Great news, Good news, Bad news…

So we, ie Papa the two dogs and myself, went to the Vet on Saturday. It was time to pick up all the food, medicines and then have their yearly shots. Our vet is a fantastic guy, who it 50% cheaper than any vet in the city, which is why we drive almost 20 miles with two greyhounds to get to him. He’s also quite practical, another thing that makes him the sole doggy doctor in our lives.

So… since it’s two greyhounds and they suck on leash… it takes two people to take ‘em.

So… first we work on Big Dog… she’s got this thing on her side… it’s a bump about the size of a kid’s fist… so he takes a syringe of that and then also some blood to see if her kidneys can withstand the anesthesia for a teeth cleaning… See… Big Dog has really bad teeth… Her breath is not good… really not good and every 9 months or so she has to go in and get the teeth scrubbed. Her teeth are always sensitive, so brushing the teeth isn’t an option. I don’t have the heart to make her hurt.

Here starts the great news… she lost 10 pounds, which is what the Vet wanted. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Vet giggle, dance and get goofy, but I did here.

But wait, there’s more!

Sheila get’s on the scales… which by the way is too cute, she splays her toes and pricks her ears when she’s lifted, and you know what??? She’s lost 10 pounds, too!

The Vet just lost all control… He said that 1 in 10 pet owners will listen to him about the weight thing so us watching and controlling what they eat, totally a big deal…And he giggled and he jumped up and down and just hummed with excitement…

So… we got special food, heart worm, special pills for Big Dogs nite time bladder issue, shots, blood drawn, oncology lab (for the growth on Big Dog’s side) & inspection…totaling $500.00… sounds like a lot of money, but for 2 dogs, not that much… the vet visit is $30.00… it was the med’s & the labs that inflated the price…

And last night we got the call from Dr. Max…

Good New. Big Dog’s mass is nothing more than a fatty mass… nothing to worry about. Good news, indeed.

Bad New. Big Dog’s kidney function is not good… it’s getting worse than it was just 9 months ago… they are functioning at less than 75%. They’ve always been on the high range, but now they’re over the top… 31 is the golden number and hers was 43. So… at 11 years old, my girl is starting to have her health decline.  The vet things a year, two at the very maximum… he said that she will start drinking more and eating less and losing more weight. And then… well we know what the next “And Then” is…

So… Papa isn’t going to go to the WWII museum in NO with me. He, and I agree, needs to stay home with Big Dog because anyone who stays with her will not have as much of an interest in her health as we do… I’m ok with it… I don’t think he really wanted to go see it anyway… I’ll be going and meeting a friend and her son and we’ll be going… I’ll just have to take good pictures…

I’m off.. must work.. I”m watching a live feed of the BP Top Kill, which is currently on hold until they “sift through information”, something they should have done before this happened… If your’e interesting in watching, go here

Have a super day!

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Great news, Good news, Bad news…

  1. Rambling says:

    Is there to be any change in diet for the dog as well as meds (of course) to control the kidney disease? That always hard news to handle..andwhile my pet doesn’t have kidney disease yet, it is a matrer of time and she will. They all do. (cats) My frst passed because of KD.

    Like

  2. Terry says:

    Sorry to hear about Big Dog’s kidney problem. Pets are such a joy and comfort to us that we hate to have them have any troubles at all. Hugs

    Like

  3. Beth says:

    I am sorry to read this. I can understand that one of you wants to stay home with her.

    Like

  4. Babblelot says:

    I understand why you love that vet. They both lost 10 pounds, wow you guys did great. I understand about the teeth and not being able to tend them except for vet. I am so sorry to hear about Big Dog and his kidneys. The cost is cheap for all those tests etc. You and Papa are sure giving those dogs wonderful care and lost important love. Thanks for the link, but I heard they will shut cameras off during the procedure to fix the leak. Whenever they start…hmm.

    Like

  5. Joe says:

    Good vets are worth their weight in gold. I have to admit such things no matter how good the vet is why I don’t miss having pets for one thing besides finding people to watch them when we go places they couldn’t. I hope you have a good trip anyway and enjoy every minute of it! I sure hope they stop that oil mess but at this point the damage must be absolutely beyond belief. Have a great day too!

    Like

Care to Comment?

