I may be fixating…

Things are up in the air in my life. In cases like this… well, I tend to fixate. It’s what I do to control when everything seems so out of control… Doc Blood could have a lot to say about that, I’ll bet…

Anyway, back to fixating. I’ve been fixating on the Deepwater Horizon disaster. I’ve been keeping my finger on the pulse of this one and it just get worse and worse and worse… Not that I didn’t think that it was going to be bad… I knew it was going to be… but still.

This half assed business of stopping the flow of oil. There’s got to be some good ideas out there. I know I’ve heard of several that have been submitted to BP through their website link that they’ve provided. However, not a single one has been called back. It isnt the first time I’ve thought since this started “What the Hell is going on over there???”

The World Headquarters is right down the road from where I live… it’s completely blocked off with police and protestors. You can’t get in there with out written documentation that you need to be there and if you’re a guest, then you need an addition to your name on a list which they can verify. I find this fascinating, as all the streets, including the entire complex that BP sits on, are public streets. They can’t legally keep me off with out abusing my Constitutional Rights just a little bit. But… I digress….

So… I’m paying close attention. Here’s the latest forecast projection of the oil flow: http://ow.ly/1MuGb

The O&G community is split about 50/50. Those that say BP is being blasphemied in the press and those of us who are ashamed and embarrassed that the industry we work in could do such a dumb, thoughtless and totally preventable thing. I always knew that it was a preventable thing and that the safety precautions were ignored, but the CBS 60 Minutes interview with Mike Williams clinched it.

The reality is that this industry is very, very small. I learned that very early. So… we all know someone who was affiliated with or on the rig when it went. We’re all a little traumatized. Many of us will be going out to at least one rig, either land or sea, this year. Sometimes, we’ll be going to many. It’s always been dangerous, the amount of Helicopter accidents are not reported but are frequent, and not we have to live with the reality that the safety precautions are not good and/or not followed.

That’s the travesty, you know… This was totally and completely preventable…

“Ignoratione rerum bonarum et malarum maxime hominum vita vexatur” – Cicero

or better yet

“Es ist nichts schrecklicher als eine thatige Unwissenheit” – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

 

Be Blessed..

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I may be fixating…

  1. Rambling says:

    Reminds me of our disaster here with TVA and the ask pond breaking and inundating homes and land and rivers with ash. Preventable.

    Like

  2. Babblelot says:

    It is interesting the roads are blocked and protesters. First I heard of this. I have a bed feeling of this oil spill and no major plan for disasters. Our gulf is filled with oil rigs, and earthquakes will happen. Apparently the US has no disaster plan either is a quake disrupts oil rigs or lines. This is truly a major disaster.

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    Things have been really funny with this from day one. Being from a landlocked state makes things about this seem kind of muffled but I am well aware that it’s a real tragedy. I figure that once this starts hitting shores bigtime people will really sit up and take notice but by then that will be the tip of the iceberg.

    Like

Care to Comment?

