Man…

So… this work thing… I have to do it forever? You sure? ‘Cause I don’t wanna. It’s exhausting. I’m sad to see the state of the way the company is going. Naught can be done. I’ll have to move on.

I’m so terribly ashamed to work in the Oil & Gas industry right now. I can’t believe the mess BP has caused. They clearly never thought this would happen. They’ve gone on the record stating that it’s not their fault, but they make sure everything’s taken care of. What do you mean it isn’t your fault? You’re the one drilling at 5000 feet with no contingency for this type of scenario. You never thought this could happen. YOu never planned for it… that means that your already two steps behind.

The O&G industry has been riding the golden horse for a long time. They all knew that there was possibility of a problem of this nature. Yet, they never even planned for it. They just pretended that if they don’t think about it, it won’t happen. It’s frightening. For them, Profits & the all mighty dollar. This is the price you pay for cutting safety for profits.

I’ve started a blog to chronicle my Fibromyalgia and to keep track of how I’m feeling. My intention is to write every evening before bed… like a daily summary. I may not do it that often, as I’ve always intended to write here every evening. If you’d like to take a look, go here: http://fibrofizz.blogspot.com/

I’ve also created an account on www.patientslikeme.com which is a website where you can keep track of your disease, rank your pain on a daily, weekly or monthly basis, and find other patients like yourself. There are currently about 270 patients like me, fibro with the same symptoms. My profile is here if you’d like to take a look: http://www.patientslikeme.com/members/view/GeoFizz I haven’t been on long enough to really build up a history, but it’s a good start.

PatientsLikeMe member GeoFizz

Or, you can click the badge above.

Have a super week. I’ve been by to visit in bits and peices. I haven’t been able to get to any of you like I would like to… but then I can’t even do my job like I would like to any more.

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Man…

  1. john says:

    what’s interesting is to compare big government to big corp….very simlar responses. Like big government big corp loses touch with the low level daily work a day nuts an bolts people. Both have their head in their posterior vetilators.Do you engage in any pain management?

    Like

  2. Babblelot says:

    I can truly understand your view of moving on. I do hope you find something you like. For the oil company to say it’s not their fault lyes a double indendum , no a double standard…you know. Why are there not other countries rushing in to help. Companies with the technology to team up with others and rush in to help clean up. Tey build a box to cover the hole? Give me ah break eh? I admire you for wring your journal. I just may do it too. I hope prince charming comes along and sweeps you off your little feetsies. Oh he is out there but you must keep your eyes open and have that smile all times. Ya I know I’m nuts but hey you give love…love will come back to you. You are what you think a very smart man says. I will go read your journal now. Hugs.

    Like

  3. CAROL says:

    I totally agree with you J .. how can you continue to work when it goes against everything you feel?How hard for you.. Please know we support your decisions, at least I do, and I hope your are able to help yourself and many others doing what you are attempting to do. I have written a journal forover 40 years in one way or another so I DO know how much it will help you. take careHUGS : )

    Like

  4. CAROL says:

    OOOOPS that should have read 30 years.. geeeeez I am tired tonight I guess.. : S

    Like

  5. Rambling says:

    Hey…great blog girl friend! I hope you have your resume out there..nothing worse than not enjoying the work for whatever reason.

    Like

  6. Kuskulana says:

    Spills happen, not often on this magnitude but they happen.Hard for me to condemn BP totally, they have a wonderful business culture here with lots of programs for families, children and the community.Perhaps their PR spokesperson could have made a better statement is what I think.We need to look at positive, not just negative, and don’t let negative events poison us and the good we do, ya know?

    Like

Care to Comment?

