I learned something new… AGAIN!!

OK… so you know by now that I’m a WWII nut.

Every Weeknight at 6 pm CST is a World War 2 show on. They play pretty much the same sets of shows over and over, just revolving them around in a loop. There are probably 2 months worth of shows. I just watch them over and over, because I always pick up something new. Tonight it’s Pacific: The Lost Evidence of Guadalcanal.

So what did I learn about? I learned about “Washing Machine Charlie”… Why, do you ask, do they call them that? Well it’s because they, the Japanese planes, circled round and round Henderson Field dropping bombs…

I didn’t know that. It’s the same feeling I had when I learned about Axis Sally… I didn’t know about her. I knew about Tokyo Rose, but not Axis Sally. Hunh.

I also learned that Cold and Sinus medicines can trigger Restless Leg Syndrome. I’ve only had it about 3 times. It can come with Fibromyalgia, so I’ve know it can happen. Anyway, I laid down at lunch, like I usually do at work, and had just a heck of a time with RLS.  I could not keep my legs still for the life of me. With me, it usually is the left leg and arm and It’s really the oddest sensation, but that you MUST move your legs and it’s all the concentration and will power you can muster to not have your body part move…

I complained about it to TL1. She googled it… turns out that RLS can be triggered by some Cold & Sinus meds… I’ve been taking some of those for the last 2 days because my sinuses are killing me and I’ve been having raging headaches… So… I took my favorite Cold and Sinus med, the only one that makes my headaches go away not that Drixoral isn’t made anymore and viola… RLS. Fifteen minutes before I laid down, I had taken one of the head saving beauties…

So now you know, too. I will be in Florida on my usual 3rd week in Florida at Fort Walton Beach starting on Sunday. I’m already starting to ramp down at work at want to be there now. I need this break.

As usual, I’ll take pictures and keep you in the loop! Have a super Wed if I don’t hear from you!!

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I learned something new… AGAIN!!

  1. ROCKET says:

    Hanoi Hannah made propaganda broadcasts to the troops during the Vietnam War.I can relate to the RLS. As a result of the damage to my spinal chord I have periods of clonus, involuntary spasms on my lower legs. It’s as if a giant hand has grabbed my leg and is shaking it as hard as possible for up to a minute at a time. The spasms are painful but trying to fight them hurts even more. My doctor prescribed Neurontin which is quite effective at controlling the attacks unless I’m over tired.

    Like

Care to Comment?

