Blast from the past…

This last Saturday I took a mini-break. A girlfriend needed some sun and salt water to help her with her psoriasis that was acting up from the unusually cold winter…

This is a blast from the past for me, because I grew up spending the Winters in Bonita Springs, FLA. My Great Gramma (called “The Gramma” and Nana’s mom) lived there and we would go down in the winter to help around her place. Frankly it was a sad thing… Sad because the home went down hill from what it was… and that wasn’t good back in the Mid to Late 1980’s. My great uncle Jr, Nana’s brother, built the house for under $5000 in the 1950’s… BTW that was a VERY good price, even then.

Back in the mid-1990’a there was a fall out with the family. Nana’s brother accused her of stealing money, something she didn’t do. See, Nana and Papa DID borrow money, but through all the work they did for The Gramma, she forgave the loan, calling it even. The problem is, by ‘92, Gramma was getting loopy & was coming down with the beginning stages of Alzheimer’s… Actually, that was kinda cute, she was wandering the neighborhood stealing fruit off other peoples fruit trees… So, Nana’s brother stepped in and moved Gramma up to a home in Michigan. He sold all the property and split the money and belongings between himself and Nana’s sister.

This mini break allowed me to stop by and see what happened to the place. Ironically, it’s up for sale. It’s in bad shape. You’ll see. And Papa said he saw an active Termite infestation moving across the outside of the house back in the ‘80’s so the house is a dive. The only thing it’s good for is the property, which has a lovely canal with access to the back bay and then the Gulf.

    Bonita Springs, FL, Feb 2010

The house used to be White with Maroon trip. The back, shown above, used to have a Huge pod tree on the left. Also on te left, where the huge stump is was a very large Grapefruit Tee… loved it. We used to park the motor home there after we drove down and we would open the door and pick a fruit and then peal and eat for Breakfast.

 Bonita Springs, FL, Feb 2010

 Bonita Springs, FL, Feb 2010

Behind these tress is a 2 level BBQ. The upper level is for sleeping and the bottom has a little kitchen and living area. Uncle JR built this for himself before he died. He died back in’85 in the American Legion parking lot of an Alcohol induced Heart Attack. He was an alcoholic.

 Bonita Springs, FL, Feb 2010

 Bonita Springs, FL, Feb 2010

 Bonita Springs, FL, Feb 2010

 

I ended up not having a good time. My tummy started acting up on Sunday. By Monday, I wasn’t able to leave the Condo and my friend, whom I’ was supposed to be helping, was running to the store to buy my Chicken Noodle Soup and saltines. They worked, and by Tuesday, I was able go out and get some Beach photos:

Ft. Myers, FL, 2010

Here’s a photo of an awesome Sunset, which I did get to enjoy 🙂

Ft. Myers, Fl, 2010


So… I’m awaiting my Florida vacation in Ft. Walton Beach. It’s coming the 3rd week in April. I’ll enjoy it. I’ll be on my own and I’ll get some nice down time to just chill and relax.

Peace,

Fizz

© “Fizz” 2010 

Technorati Tags: ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Windows Live Tags: Blast,winter,Bonita,Gramma,Nana,Papa,Alzheimer,fruit,trees,Michigan,belongings,sale,Termite,infestation,canal,Gulf,White,Maroon,Huge,tree,Also,Grapefruit,park,door,Breakfast,Behind,bottom,area,Uncle,American,Legion,Alcohol,Heart,Attack,tummy,Condo,friend,Chicken,Noodle,Soup,Beach,Here,photo,Sunset,Florida,vacation,Walton,April,Peace,Fizz,photos,wasn,brother,himself

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blast from the past…

  1. Joe says:

    Memories can often enough be bitter sweet for us all I think. I usually don’t spend much time looking back to be honest. That’s too bad about the stomach trouble on your trip, I’m sure the trip in April will be much better for you. I hope to see some beaches before the year is over. I don’t see it every year so it has a special place in my heart. Thanks for sharing the photos and history.

    Like

  2. Babblelot says:

    I was wondering how your mini vacation went. I bet the flashbacks of memories got to your tummy. It looks like a wonderful home. Termites can do such unseen damage. Beautiful shot of the beach and sunset. How lucky to get another in April. Take care now. Hugs!

    Like

  3. Rambling says:

    As Joe said, memories brought by revisiting a place can and often are bittersweet. I had some memories too while viewing the pictures. When we first got married, he was living in Melborne FL and that is where I went of course after the ceremony. That home of your Nana’s reminded me of ours in a way except we had jalousie windows. Just the sand I could see..the general look of the home took me all the way to Palm Bay and Melborne. :-) Beautiful State and I would live there again if it was feasible.Glad you’re back in one piece..hope you are feeling great now! Bummer when you get all yukkied up on a trip.

    Like

  4. Beth says:

    There is an old saying, "You can never go home again." I do believe that is true. I know you will have more fun on your trip alone.Hugs,Beth

    Like

  5. ♥ Aimee says:

    beautiful pictures…~*:.♥.:*~ because you shared a smile :o) someone’s day got brighter… ~*:.♥.:*~

    Like

  6. ♬ŠŨŇ says:

    Lovely, I think that house looks fab. There is so much you could do with that, if you had the money. It can be sad going back. The street I was brought up in, is now disgusting. It is so sad. Loved you pics and that SUNSET. Bet you can’t wait to go on your trip. Will you really be on your own? Take care.

    Like

  7. Stephen Craig says:

    Thank you for visiting the Painting Studio and for your comments. My folks used to have a small winter home in Hudson just north of Tampa. I spent two weeks there some years ago when Dad was ill and could not fly back up north in the spring so I drove him and Mother home to northern Wi. It was a good trip. Have a great day and as ever be well

    Like

  8. Greg says:

    Thank you for taking us along…A nice blog break from our stubborn winter weather.Yes, I agree too a revisit can be bittersweet. But good memories have a way of overriding the troubles of this world. A nice warm sunset always helps too…Have a wonderful weekend…Greg

    Like

Care to Comment?

