It doesn’t matter, does it?

What? What matters? What do you think?

About what, you say?

Generic versus Brand prescription drugs.

So… do you get the Name Brand, or the Generic… ‘cause they’re all the same, right?

Wrong. Generic drugs are not the same as Name Brand. In fact, they can be up to 20% different. That’s right, 20%. The government allows for up to 20% difference.

So what, you say. Well… do you want your Nitro to be 20% less effective if you’re having a heart attack? What about your chemo drugs, do you want them to be 20% less effective? Maybe not?

I learned this the hard way. First, when I was younger and having female problems, I was on the Birth Control Pill to help things out… No more details, I promise. Anyway, I went from the name brand to a generic. I am very in tune with my body and I noticed a difference right away. A noticeable enough difference to where I went to the and had the prescription refilled under “Brand Specific”.

Most recently, I went from my Pr0t0n!x tummy pills to the Generic. I was ok with the first batch of generics. But recently, the pharmacy I go to got their generics from a different place. I noticed right away… my stomach was not behaving. I was having trouble like I wasn’t on tummy pills. So… I call the Dr. & requested “Brand Specific”.

My point is this… don’t believe anyone who tells you that it’s “all the same”, because they’re not all the same. Use your noggin… if you don’t think the pills are working, go to your Dr and have a chat…

Have a great week. Work sucks, but then it always does. There’s always something and this time it’s all about who can take a full week of Vacation and who can’t…. typical…

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It doesn’t matter, does it?

  1. Rambling says:

    I totally agree. They are NOT the same. I detest having to take the generic..forced by my insurer. I am in the process of an appeal now.

    Like

  2. Babblelot says:

    The FDA (U.S. Food and Drug Administration) requires that generic drugs be as safe and effective as brand-name drugs. Actually, generic drugs are only cheaper because the manufacturers have not had the expenses of developing and marketing a new drug. When a company brings a new drug onto the market, the firm has already spent substantial money on research, development, marketing and promotion of the drug. A patent is granted that gives the company that developed the drug an exclusive right to sell the drug as long as the patent is in effect. As the patent nears expiration, manufacturers can apply to the FDA for permission to make and sell generic versions of the drug; and without the startup costs for development of the drug, other companies can afford to make and sell it more cheaply. When multiple companies begin producing and selling a drug, the competition among them can also drive the price down even further.So there’s no truth in the myths that generic drugs are manufactured in poorer-quality facilities or are inferior in quality to brand-name drugs. The FDA applies the same standards for all drug manufacturing facilities, and many companies manufacture both brand-name and generic drugs. In fact, the FDA estimates that 50% of generic drug production is by brand-name companies.

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    I don’t know the answers on the drug thing truthfully but I will say that is because I haven’t had to have any really in my lifetime…I pray it stays that way. ….did you say a full week of vacation? Oh man that sounds so good…it’s actually below zero here now so I’m thinking somewhere very warm for vacation…yeah dream on.

    Like

  4. Beth says:

    I do agree with you Juli. I take a prescription drug for my tummy. I have gotten along well with the generic until this last batch from a different manufacturer. I couldn’t take them.

    Like

  5. Greg says:

    Good morning…Thank you! I did not know that about prescription drugs. But then I am a label reader and do sometimes see variances.You know…Life is better when we use our noggin’ more. I’ve always liked that description for our brain. I like thinking cap too…My thought for the day: Life doesn’t have to feel like a dumpster fire.But then that is kind of hard to do…49 states now have snow!!! The one left out with the cold white stuff??? Yup…Hawaii.Be well and stay warm…Greg

    Like

  6. Charlotte M Simonsen says:

    I have experienced that same type of thing. For one thing, I am allergic to corn… what do they use as fillers in some of those CHEAPER drugs? Corn… celluose made from corn… corn starch to hold them together… I do like to breathe… We need to be informed and to inform others.. Thanks for your blog… hugs, lottemae

    Like

  7. Rambling says:

    It’s me again…

    Like

Care to Comment?

