“For every action…

… There is an equal and opposite reaction” – Isaac Newton

That seems to be my topic this week. It seems like I have a case of the reverse Midas touch & it stinks!

It started with a disagreement with someone that I had been twittering with. It was stupid & I behaved really badly. I apologized later in the day and just back away as gracefully as possible.

On Friday, I was told that I should stop collecting money because the company (S*M*T) I work for wanted to do a Haiti fundraiser & they wanted to do the American Red Cross, not Doctors without Borders. As I got permission to do the fundraising before I asked people, I did as requested in the spirit of any money to help the people of Haiti is good. An email went out on Monday from the president of our company and I tried to gracefully step aside.

The problem is, the people that donated to my charity, they wanted their funds to be matched. Since all donations to the American Red Cross were going to be matched up to $10,000. I had raised almost $1000 from S*M*T employees & a total of $1300.00 from a larger group of people that are clients (who are also friends), former employees & Papa.

I asked at the urging of several donors. Figuring that the answer will always be no unless you ask, I put together a nice letter that asked if it was possible to match the donations, but having the matching go to the American Red Cross. S*M*T told me no, and so I said thank you and sent the following letter to my donors:

Team

                Many of you asked if our donation will be matched and so I have made the request for donation matching for our donations made the first 1.5 weeks of the Haiti disaster, totaling $1300.00. I made the argument that we didn’t care where the donation matching went to, so long as people were helped. HR was kind and quick enough to respond to my query within minutes.

                Be aware that donation matching will not apply to us. I’m sorry I couldn’t do better for your donations. We’ve done good, hard work. The funds you’ve donated have made a huge difference and I’m so proud of each and every one of you! If you are able, I know that that a second donation to the S*M*T fundraiser would be most appreciated and your donation will be matched.

                You should all be proud of yourselves… you’re all thoughtful and caring and I sincerely appreciate your kind heart.

Thanks,

Fizz

 

I think it was a perfectly lovely letter. And, I supported everyone, even S*M*T.

The problem is… I feel very slighted. The day of the disaster I went and asked permission to collect money for Doctors without Borders. They knew what I was doing. But, rather than rally behind me and support me and make a good showing of how proud they are of having an employee whose compassionate, caring and proactive… well they decided to take the idea and steal it. In the email sent out by the CEO, there was no acknowledgement of my efforts and actions… it was as though I didn’t even exist.

Further, I’ve had to do something that is very humiliating to me, ask for money. I had to ask if the money I raised would be matched, like some beggar on the street. Just sending the email request was one of the most humiliating things I’ve ever done.

And now, there is one employee, who I know means well, that has made a big fuss to HR and to the CEO as to why our donations won’t be matched. They are not answering other than to say “No”.

I just want this to go away so that I can go crawl back under my rock.

Is that too much to ask????

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2010

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “For every action…

  1. Beth says:

    Juli, dear, you are such a kind loving person. I know this all hurts you. Please try to put it all behind you as it is not good for your health to be so upset.Big Hug!!

    Like

  2. Joe says:

    I’ve been in the position to ask for money too and though it was for a good cause it seems that things like this can really creep up and steal the joy of doing something good for someone else. I’m sorry about all the fuss and confusion. I think that no matter what you went above and beyond the call of duty and that’s something to be proud of.

    Like

  3. Teri says:

    Your reward is great in Heaven for beyond anything else – your heart was and is in the right place. Fugetabout it my friend…I know – easier said than done, but just remember the story of the widows mite. You gave of your heart!!

    Like

  4. ROCKET says:

    I’ve been in the same position and it is humiliating. A classic case of corporate insensitivity. You did a good thing and for what it’s worth I’m proud of you.

    Like

Care to Comment?

