Points, Points, Points

I make all my purchases with my Debit card.

I get points on my debit card through my bank. I get points on my Nordstrom card. I’ll get points when I pay my Nordstrom Card with my Debit Card.

I use a search engine called “My Points” that gives me points for using their search engine to find the goodies I’m going to buy. If I go to My points and search on Nordstrom, I’ll get 3 points for every purchase by going to the Nordstrom website through My Points.

So, on a $100.00 purchase at Nordstrom, I get the following points breakdown:

  • 3 points per dollar for going to Nordstrom through My Points, a total of 300 points
  • 2 points per dollar from Nordstrom for using my Nordstrom department store card, for a total of 200 points
  • 1 point per dollar by paying my Nordstrom card by using my Debit card for a total of 100 points.

So, for all programs in total, my $100 dollar  purchase will give me 600 points which are redeemable at between my bank, Nordstrom & My Points.. How cool is that?

If you purchase online frequently, and you’re interested in points, go to www.mypoints.com and register. Then, every time you search for goodies to buy, you’ll get points of which you can redeem for $20 gift cards, etc. My only warning is that unless you’re really looking for car insurance, and the like, don’t do the surveys. That just sets you up to get junk mail in your email box. But, if you use a Secondary email for that, then you’re good.

My theory is that if you’re going to purchase something, you might as well as get something for it, so I maximize my rewards for something I was already going to purchase.

Have a great day… I’m off this week… I had to use it or I was going to loose it. Didn’t want to lose it so jeez… twist my arm and make me take a vacation… Next year I’m actually going to have to work to use my PTO, I get 200 hours a year now, and I’m only able to carry over 240 and that boils down to 1 week to carry over, and then the next years total of 200.  So… I seriously have to have a plan of attack. I need to use 2.5 weeks of vacation by June and then another 2.5 weeks by December in order to not have to take the whole month of December like a colleague had to do.

I truly hope that you’re blessed this last week week of 2009.

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Points, Points, Points

  1. Joe says:

    Talk about a good little deal there with points. I don’t buy on-line all that often so it likely wouldn’t work for me but I would sure do that if I did. Perfect time for a vacation…you’ve got it all down to a fine art I’d say! Have a great last week of ’09 as well!

    Like

  2. Beth says:

    The point system sounds good although I am like Joe and I don’t shope much online, just occasionally at Amazon. Enjoy your week off.

    Like

  3. Terry says:

    I don’t do any online shopping either. Sounds like a good deal if you do though.

    Like

  4. Cindy says:

    I have an LL Bean Visa card and get points from them as well as free shipping. That’s a big bonus. But I use Paypal for most of my other online purchases. Shopping on line is so easy and fun too. Enjoy your week off.

    Like

  5. Babblelot says:

    I get points on anything I buy from my bank debit card the points is cash which goes back in my account.I see TX is having snow and cold and even ice this week. It’s to be -6 below tonight yikes! Enoy your week.Maybe think of some four day weekends next year huh?

    Like

  6. Rambling says:

    I always enjoyed planning my vacation days to the hilt. The last set of days was 4 weeks. I tried to schedule day shifts off as much as possible. I detest day shifts. So horribly much going on but then, I am and was addicted to being busy and multitasking. :-)

    Like

Care to Comment?

