No snow in Houston!

I’m sitting here in a nice dewy glow of light watching the evening news. I am in shorts and a T-shirt. I am not freezing… thought it is nice and cool in the house.

I am quite happy that I am not in any of the states that have gotten a boat load of snow, however I do have gear if I ever am… But… I’m not! 😉

Nothing is up here. I have been in pain because of the weather fronts, but that is to be expected. I’m looking over the clinical trial data base in hopes of finding something that is in the Houston area that I can do. Maybe I’ll be able to be a part of some amazing research…

On Pearl Harbor day I donated coffee to soldiers through the “A Cup of Joe for a Joe” program. I got a thank you note today. I had to laff, as it started with “Ma’am”… I nearly looked over my shoulder to check and see who he was addressing! I guess at 37, I do qualify to be called ma’am… not that I’m over joyed with the label.

If you would like to donate a cup of coffee to a soldier, go here: http://www.greenbeanscoffee.com/coj Donations can be as little as $2.00.

I’m off to play my favorite Facebook game, FarmVille… it’s addicting!

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No snow in Houston!

  1. ROCKET says:

    As a southerner I was brought up to call all ladies ma’am, purely as a sign of respect. On the other hand, I can sympathize because, at 55, I’m expecting the kids at Walmart or McDonalds to switch from sir to gramps any day now :-).

    Like

  2. Beth says:

    You are a young lady and I am a Ma’am. LOL I visited the link. I think it all sounds like a wonderful idea.I am glad you are warm as it is bitter cold here.

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    Shorts?!? I can’t even fathom that in December…not even when we lived in Tulsa, OK. I think you’ve a right to be glad that you’re not struggling with the rotten weather. It got warmer for us but the windchill makes it feel worse and now we’ve got the snow trying to drift…not much to drift but I imagine tomorrow should like like a white desert out there. I have a friend that is a veteran from this war…his battle buddy is actually a high ranking person in Star Bucks so you know that they have been sending a butt load of coffee to the troops and they really do appreciate it….Ma’am LOL!

    Like

  4. john says:

    research …. hum sharts in December///// where?

    Like

  5. Babblelot says:

    I hope you are feeling good as you’ve had ah ruff year.Those weather fronts sure can make it worse. If you are in shortsthen let me borrow the fireplace…it’s 2 degrees actual temp right now. BRRR!

    Like

  6. Dana says:

    What an awesome thing to do! Shorts? I’m in my house where it’s normally warm but this computer corner is COLD. I’m in sweats, long sleeve shirt AND my down coat as I type! I really am just wishing for a warm island at this point.

    Like

  7. Terry says:

    Shorts? I’m so jealous. Freezing the butts off here.

    Like

  8. Rambling says:

    Juyli..what a great idea. I will!!! Oh and at 41, I was referred to as "that old lady weith the gall bladder" in the hospital by student nurses outside my door. I thought "am I an old lady"? Then I thought "they are 18 or so…just ignore". But I have had a lot of laughs since thinking of it. It’s all in the eye of the beholder. Hope you post some pics in Flickr soon.

    Like

  9. Sherry says:

    So you’re in shorts and i’m in a sweatshirt lol. Woke up to -2 temp this morning with windchills heading down to -20. Yup farmville is addicting for sure.Have fun playing!

    Like

Care to Comment?

