A flock of Stingray…

Today I’ve seen something that I’ve NEVER seen before, a multitude of Stingray in their natural environment. I had heard that they come this way for breeding when the water gets cooler, but had never seen them.

Today, I did see them and they are marvelous! The water is not glass calm, but you can see them “flap” their wings to move… they come in groups and singly, they are very large. They look to be the size of about 2 feet long… they are beautiful. I stand and watch loads and loads of them go by… I am going to try to get a photo of them tomorrow. There is a front coming through tonight, so the water might not be clear enough, so maybe Wed. But, I will try.. if even so you can see a brown shadow in the water.

I have taken photo’s of the view from my balcony… here they are:Facing South Facing East Facing West

I am not as high as I would like to be… the 2nd floor is too low to the ground to see as much as I would like… but then nothing is perfect. I originally selected a condo higher, but it was sold and they Management company I used was no longer in charge, so I had to move down 2 floors.

The height didn’t seem to cause a problem with my photo’s of the sun set… here are the best ones of the bunch:

11/16 11/16 11/16

So, you can see, I’m not roughing it by no means. I’m enjoying myself. I’ve taken a walk in the morning and the evening and took a Nap in between.

I have Nana’s knack for picking up injured soles. I met a woman when I was walking this AM who told me her whole story. Nana seemed to pick them up too. I felt badly for her. She’s suffering from severe depression. If talking to me helped her one little bit, then I will be there for her if only in one brief instant while walking on the beach, looking at the stingrays… I wished her well and the best of luck, and truly meant it.

Seriously, though, in the mile long stretch of sand, there are, at best, less than 30 people and I bump into someone needing a brief instant to tell their life story…

I love this time of year… it’s like I have the whole place to myself. There are a few people around, but the entire beach has so few people, it might as well be my own private beach. It’s wonderful.

This evening I heard someone in the Condo next to me moving in… so I don’t have the entire floor to myself now. I would have liked to have them away from me a bit, but I don’t feel so desolate, anyway. I don’t feel unsafe in the leas.… I feel positively save and secure, but it’s a little unnerving to have the whole floor to yourself.

Well… I should ring off. I’m watching the new show WWII in HD. There’s a lot of footage never before publicly seen… most of it’s in color. Very interesting and you get the personal feeling to it. John Bord, are you watching it? It’s on the History Channel the rest of the week. New shows start at 8pm Central time and 2 hours before that are the previous days… is very good. They’ve selected several men and one woman to follow and have actors as their voices when they were younger.

Oh… speaking of WWII… I got another collectable. Not a Dog Tag… it’s an Autographed 1st addition of the book called “I was Churchill’s shadow” and it’s written by W. H. Thompson. I can’t wait to dig in!!

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A flock of Stingray…

  1. Joe says:

    I’m so glad you can relax and enjoy life in such a great place, I love that! Endless beach and few people…ah, I can almost feel myself begin to unwind just hearing about it. Enjoy your book my friend!

    Like

  2. john says:

    I no have a boob tube….have to see if it is a video on puter. Rays are cool to watch, they swimn quite well with sharks. have a great time

    Like

  3. Beth says:

    Have a wonderful time Juli. The pictures are great.

    Like

  4. Babblelot says:

    Happy to read you are enjoying your vacation. The pictures are wonderful.Bless you to listen to the lady. Yes you definately helped her by listening and wishing her well.Nana I know is very proud of you.

    Like

  5. Terry says:

    What a beautiful place to relax in and enjoy. It looks to peaceful.

    Like

  6. ROCKET says:

    All that beach is making me homesick!

    Like

  7. Teri says:

    ooooh – awesomely gorgeous pictures my friend!!! I envy you the winter beach – you KNOW how much I that!! Hope you are shedding the office frustrations and putting on a new skin of relaxation!!God bless you for caring!Teri

    Like

  8. ♥ Aimee says:

    sometimes the shoulder of a stranger is more comforting than a friend…

    Like

  9. Cheryl says:

    Are you in Galveston? Thanks for the reminder about the Edmund Fitzgerald. At that time I lived in Ashland Wisconsin and some ofthe crew were from that small town. The churches were full during that time. A very sad thing. I recently bought a book about the ghosts of Lake Superior. A lot of shipwrecks as you well know…

    Like

Care to Comment?

