Insanity…

What the HECK is going on down in Somalia… whipping women for wearing bra’s? You’ve GOT to be kidding me! I am continually amazed that the length that many men and countries will go to keep women dominated and subservient. I’ve always tried to keep an open mind about different religions, cultures and ways of life, but limiting women in such a way is ignorance it’s self.

Now I know what you’re thinking… why should you be surprised about ANYTHING that goes on in Somalia, I don’t know… well I guess I’m an optimist… I always believe that people will do good and do the right thing. I know that life isn’t like that, but deep down I have that hope that things will change in the world. How can anyone believe that fear, oppression and illiteracy will come to anything? Every dictator in history has his day, if only because they die. Usually, though, the oppressed rise up and take their vengeance out and their freedom back. Who will help the women of Somalia?

Ok… I’m pushing the soapbox back under my desk…

On a positive note… yesterday I was a hero! Yes, I was. My mentee at work, Nhung, was having a problem with an electrical socket in her home and I went over there at lunch to take a look at it. Sure enough, with the power off and the socket out, one of the wires was pulling out of the socket when it was pressed into the wall. An adjustment of the wire so that it wanted to be pushed into the socket when the whole unit was put into the wall was all it took. It took me longer to shut off the power and take off the socket plate than it did to fix it.

So, when the power was back on there were squeals of delight and happiness. I’d fixed it. Which just shows, that girls rule and boys drool…

I may not be physically capable of doing anything a man can do, but I can out think, out work and out fix most of the rest of things that come along. No, I’m not anti-men. I would just like the whole lot of them to realise that I’m just as capable as they are.

So… you have a happy Tuesday… I’m going to go work and wish that it were Friday afternoon…

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Insanity…

  1. Terry says:

    I think deep down men know women are capable of just as much as they are and those that oppress them are terrified they will take over and show it. Any so-called religion that promote or approved such is really not fit to be called a religion. Good Job!

    Like

  2. Joe says:

    I think it’s amazing how we go on and on about discrimination but the most discriminated group in the world is surely women. Nothing disgusts me more than people that cower behind a belief system that encourages this. Anyone that claims to be a Christian and does so needs to think about where God loved the WHOLE world so much He gave His only begotten son and any other that abuses women in the name of their God…well, maybe they need to think about that. I read the other day that 30 million Chinese men are without anyone to marry because they aren’t allowed to have more than one child and most are obsessed with having a male child…let’s see the end justify that means…ugh! I’m well aware of how much good strong women have influenced my life and my wife is my equal partner and best friend…why on earth should we oppress someone else…does this make us feel superior or something? Whew, here, you can have your soap box back (shuffles off to a dark corner again)…

    Like

  3. ROCKET says:

    When I was a crew foreman with a fire and flood restoration contractor most of my crew were women. My team did interior trim carpentry and final "punch list" work and I found women were more detail oriented than most men. As for Somalia; there isn’t even a dictatorship for the people to rise up against in that cess pool. There has been no government whatsoever in Somalia for nearly 20 years. The only law there comes out of the barrel of an AK-47.

    Like

  4. CAROL says:

    YAY.. YES INDEEDY you RULE!! Good for you. Last night the news stated that soon more women will be in the work force than men and more will be owners of businesses too. Hurrah for us!! I do know that because so many factories are closed the number of men has declined though. I hadn’t heard about the bra thing but that is the most ridiculous thing I ever heard of. You are so right! take care and have a great day : )

    Like

  5. Sherry says:

    Well you can get that soapbox out any time you want to. I will never understand their thinking and am so grateful that I live in this country.How nice of you to help out your friend and fix her socket for her. You bet you can do just about anything that doesn’t require brut strength. Just goes to show you’re more then just a pretty face huh. You go girl!

    Like

  6. Babblelot says:

    You rock Jules! Yes we women have come a long way baby! Women still don’t get equal pay in America though. Someone just said the other day that if a woman can use a wrench and screwdriver they don’t need the man….lol! Other countries do have a religious slant of the females and their roles. Those born learned ways are very hard for another country to step in and change, let alone tell them it’s wrong. Once we get out of Afganistan and Iraq they will probably go back to their old ways. Think about that one awhile. Enjoy your day and hope you are feeling better.

    Like

  7. Teri says:

    you go girl!! Good job on the socket – see I’d be a whining baby cuz I am so scared of electricity!! As for the dictator – there will always be idiots in the world I’m just sorry there are so many innocents that have no protectors out there!

    Like

  8. Grandpa Dewey says:

    When ever I need a socket fixed I now know who to call. LOL. As a man I have no problems with the female half of this country working and taking care of me. As for the Bra thing that should be a choice "to wear or not to wear" just as it is here. Friday will come fast enough. Enjoy your week.1 minute ago | Delete

    Like

  9. Beth says:

    BRAVO!!! What a great post you have written. Proud of ya Babe!!

    Like

  10. ♬ŠŨŇ says:

    It is disgraceful, the things that go on, in some countries. I do feel sorry for the woman. I hope someone stands up for them.I am not surprised you can fix a socket. Us as woman, we are not second hand citizens. We are equal with men. Well done you. Take care.

    Like

  11. R U Serious says:

    You’re too much!! What a Great post! Can you come here and fix my transmission??Now…. I am NOT leaving spaces! I was just frustrated about old friends leaving for Facebook without leaving a forwarding address. I KNOW whee my friends are! HERE!!! So I’ll still be posting about my crazy neighbors. The only change will be for me to comment more!!Have a Great week sweetie!!Bob~

    Like

  12. john says:

    I have worked with women that would embarss most men…..come join me on the farm or ranch someday if ya want a little work. first milk call is 5:00 am last one is 6:00pm. /cook the meals, can the food, put up the hay, weed the garden, butcher the hog and take care of the kids. women didn’t stop working until after the war and te conviences of machines came along. A woman was always respected for her responsibilities. I have an aunt the was a stock car driver, another has her own restaurant, cousins their own business. some woman never caught up the working women just complained about it.Religion that is distorted creates numerous problems and the thing on the bra….hum how long has that support thing been around?Now down at the clothing store they have work pants….so if i get ya a pair will ya come fix my electrical system…It is sad how some people treat others…have a great one.

    Like

  13. Leona says:

    Way to go there, Fizz. You sound like a "super Jill-of-all-trades". Any woman who wants to compete with the men — ‘have-at-it’. I did my share of male stuff in my lifetime. Now, I just want to watch them do the fixin’. Maybe pass them a screwdriver or wrench or a hammer. Have a good week, my friend.

    Like

  14. ♥ Aimee says:

    beat for wearing a bra…man…some places are just messed up!~*:.♥.:*~ because you shared a smile :o) someone’s day got brighter… ~*:.♥.:*~

    Like

Care to Comment?

