Where have I been lately??

I know… I’ve been really, really bad. I haven’t been writing. In my defense, work has been insane and my mother was here for a visit.

Work is still insane, but I’ve decided I need a break. I’ve been working a lot from home and at a dead run at work and I just need some down time. I’m so stressed that I’ve been sleeping with my eyes open. I do this frequently, but most of all when I’m really, really stressed. I wake up and my eyes feel like gravel. I feel like I’ve had absolutely no rest…

Yes. I’m a mess.

So… I survived life with out papa, barely. The dogs liked Mom, who bestowed plenty of treats and love in their direction. Mom and I went to the Terracotta Warriors exhibit at the Houston Museum of Natural Science… it’ was fantastic, but much smaller than I thought it would be.

I also took mom to the Houston Aquarium, which is a restaurant and we had a super fantastic meal that was just the bomb… de-lish.

Two nights after Papa got back, we had a big thunderstorm, which sent Big Dog scurrying up stairs. She hasn’t done that since before we put the laminate on the stairs. It was the funniest thing I’ve ever been through trying to get her down. I heard the ruckus outside of my room and ran out to see Papa at the top of the stairs with Big Dog in hand. Now, greyhounds, they don’t do stairs well anyway, but stairs that have laminate rather than carpet… well she was likely to break her neck. I do mean that literally.

So he’s there a tugging on her collar saying “Come on” and she’s just lookin’ positively pitiful. She’s on all 4 legs, but the front two are two steps down the stairs and the back two were standing straight up on the top step, looking quite shaky. It was precarious to say the least.

I trot up the stairs to “help” and I take over. I grab the reigns… I mean the collar and say, “C’mon good girl” to which Big Dog plops her back end down into the sitting position and digs in. I laffed so hard I cried. So I try again. I give a neck message, tell her she’s a good girl, and tug… to which you can actually see her toes and toe nails “grip” into the carpet.

I looked up at papa, grinned, and said “Wow… such devotion! She REALLY likes you, tho I don’t know why!” I had to do SOMETHING, he was starting to get more than a little angry. And so he laffed, too.

So then we decide manhandling is the only way to go. I put my right arm under her belly, just forward of the hind legs and grip her front chest for “bracing”. Papa grabs the front end entirely and we go one step at a time. By the time it was all over, I was laffing so hard I was in risk of dropping the dog or slipping and hurting myself.

Fun times in the Fizz household for sure!

Catch you on the flip flop!

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Where have I been lately??

  1. Ann says:

    Great story of the dog on the stairs. But – where was your camera?!

    Like

  2. Joe says:

    Stress can make the humorous moments all the more precious don’t you think? Much has been going on here too though I just can’t bring myself to blog about it to be quite honest. I’ve been staying the course with a post a week on the last trip and keeping it there and the rest of the time letting myself unwind and visit people when I can. Nothing wrong with doing that you know? I don’t any of us need guilt in our lives for not being devoted enough to life on the Internet I should think. Bless you Juli, it’s great to hear from you…not a guilt trip there…just a heartfelt truth. Have a great day.

    Like

  3. Teri says:

    SOOOO glad to hear from my fizzy friend!!! You always bring a smile to me!!!

    Like

  4. Sherry says:

    I’m laughing just from your description of trying to get Big Dog downstairs lol. I’m glad you had a nice visit with your mom. Now take it easy and try not to stress yourself out so much.HugsSherry

    Like

  5. john says:

    A cool fizzy time….sa-rite

    Like

  6. Terry says:

    Dogs are such funny creatures. I can just see the scene in my mind.

    Like

  7. Babblelot says:

    How many humans does it take to git a greyhound down the stairs in ah thunder storm? LOL!Oh Fizz I hope your life gets de-stressed soon. I know you are counting down the days till vacation.Hang in there kiddo. I can picture you and Papa going down one step at ah time and even the shaky big eyed look on the dog’s face. I still think of the time of the opossum you and Papa hoisted up over the fence…LOL!!!

    Like

  8. GreatGranny says:

    A funny scene here, though not funny to the dog. It was laughable, a de-stresser.

    Like

  9. Beth says:

    LOL I am glad you got the dog safely down the stairs without any one of the three of you getting hurt!

    Like

  10. Leona says:

    What a picture, you with your "right arm under her belly, and Papa with the front end making your way down the stairs… one step at a time. " This is sooooo funny, Thanks for the laugh!

    Like

  11. Rita says:

    You should have had a video rolling for that, Fizz! lolI’m glad you took a day off, it sounds like you needed it. I’m sorry your job has so much stress for you.Hugs

    Like

  12. Rambling says:

    I laughed! At you and your Papa’s expense but only because I, as a used-to-be dog owner..Jack (red hunting dog) Daddy and I went through near the same thing. Not fun, but great to laugh about…later. Much later! HUG

    Like

  13. Babblelot says:

    It’s Oct 12th, so where are you? LOL!!Be good Mizz Fizz

    Like

Care to Comment?

