Mom is in the house!

Saturday I went to the airport to pick up my mom. I was going to pick her up at baggage claim.

As with everywhere I go, I started talking to a woman I was sitting next to on a set up chairs. She’s a wonderful woman.. her name is Carolyn and she’s from Baton Rouge. We were talking and her daughter was flying in from Australia. More talking proved that she and her daughter and son in law and grandchildren are all WWII fans, just like I am.

In a twist if fate, I happened to have my newly acquired WWII dog tags from Stalingrad and others in my purse. I took them out to show her. She was so excited, her grandchildren were going to be so thrilled to see the tag. Well… my mom got there and her children hadn’t shown up yet. So… I took the tags out so she could take a picture of them.

And then… I gave her one. I told her it was my gift to her. And… she refused to keep it. But, she took down my address and is going to mail it back to me after she gets back home. I’m thrilled. I wanted to do something nice that day and I was able to do so.  Her Grandkids will see some really WWII stuff… and so that generation won’t forget, either. It’s awesome!

If she doesn’t return the tag, then I was able to do something that I wanted to do for someone… something nice. If she does, then I’ve still done something nice and she’s returned my goodie back to me. That means she’s done something nice, too.

So… Mom is all settled. She’s going to be here at work at about 11:00 and I’m going to give her the grand tour. She’ll go to lunch with us and then go shopping for a swimsuit at the mall.

 

All is going well here… the week is doing well. We’re enjoying ourselves and I know Mom is enjoying her vacation.

Take it easy and have a good one..

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Mom is in the house!

  1. Beth says:

    You just verified what I have known all along. You are a super nice young lady Juli!!Hugs,Beth

    Like

  2. Ann says:

    How serendipitous to find another WW II buff while waiting for your families. Cool.

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    Sounds like a great time for you my friend, I’m sure glad your mom is able to be there and you can enjoy her company. I wish we could have gone over WWII stuff back when I was in my hayday with that stuff. I went from that to Vietnam stuff and even had a big bout with the Civil War…lately I’ve been trying to find a good book on the Korean War. Anyway, have a blessed time with your mom today.

    Like

  4. john says:

    WWII changed so many things and its place in history will be one monstrous chapter. The Web is opening so many new doors and stories from that era. Some stories of the vets are being recorded and posted. Sounds like you have a new friend and a buff to exchange notes with…

    Like

  5. Terry says:

    What a nice thing to do. You have made a new friend. You and Mom will have a great time together. The time will probably just fly by.

    Like

  6. Babblelot says:

    Reading your blog you sound happy. Have a great time my friend.

    Like

  7. Sherry says:

    What a nice thing to do and I know she really appreciated it. I just bet you get them back. Enjoy your visit with your mom and tell us all about what you did together.HugsSherry

    Like

  8. Cindy says:

    Really Cool Fizz! Is so nice to meet a complete stranger and know she could be trusted with one of your treasures. Like the saying… What goes around, comes around. Hope you and Mom have a great time together.

    Like

  9. Rambling says:

    You are such a darling! Many hugs!!! You and I would get along great if we lived near one another as in this way, we seem to be two peas in a pod AND…AND…I love rocks!

    Like

  10. Rambling says:

    And my goodness I forgot to say that I am happy you have your mom there with you. I loved my parents to visit or me visit them. Nothing like it, is there?

    Like

  11. Rita says:

    That was soo nice of you to do! I am sure the woman will return the tags to you. I watched the show, Pawn shop the other night and a man brought in a full WW11 uniform. It was in his grandmothers trunk and when she died he took it. He knew nothing about it, and assumed it was his grandfathers. How can you NOT know any of your history? It was a LT. uniform and he was in the Army Air Corps.(before it became the air force) He wanted $200 for it. The expert said it was worth $800 and he was thrilled to get $400.Have a GREAT time with your mom!

    Like

  12. Leona says:

    That was such a lovely thing for you to do! I am sure the woman and her family will have a grand old time examining and talking about those tags. They will never forget this wonderful experience and the kids will be talking about it when they are grown. You are so nice to do that.Enjoy your weekend have lots of fun!

    Like

Care to Comment?

