Terracotta Warriors

Many of you commented on the Terracotta Warriors in that you hadn’t heard of them. They are best described here at Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terracotta_Army

If you have seen the Mummy2, you have seen the Terracotta Warriors. There were the porcelain like warriors that came to life and tried to kill Brendan Frasier, et. al. through out the movie.

They are amazing pieces of work and they are supposed to be absolutely magnificent. I cannot wait to see them in the real. Today is a good day. I woke up and made it to work in one piece, that’s always good news. I am listening to “The Doomsday Key” by James Rollins right now on Audio CD. This is a fantastic book and keeps me entertained the 30 or so minutes it takes me to get to work.

I have taken to listening to books on CD on the drive to and from work as it’s almost the only time I get to “read’ these days. Though I am working on reading more, I’ve found that I really do enjoy the audio CD, especially when it’s done well by a reader who can do different voices for different people and read like he really is telling a story and not just reading. The gentleman that does the James Rollins Sigma series is fantastic. By far and away, one of the best in the business. I’ve listened to several and some can just drone on and on. Also, he will keep the same accent and voice for the same person from book to book… you can’t get any better than that! It really makes each book in the series connected and cohesive.

I’m off to a meeting… there are so many of those these days… we’re trying to get another software release out the door and the Mgmt wants to speed up the release process because of the economy. As our competitors have been laying people off and not releasing new versions, this will make us a top competitor when people start buying again. Goodness knows when that will be. We’re so dependant on the Price Per Barrel of Crude Oil.

This price per barrel is a double edged sword for me. I don’t like paying the price at the pump, but the higher it goes, the more secure my company stability and thus my job becomes. It feels bi-polar most days.

Have a good one… be blessed and chin up…

Fizz

© “Fizz” 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Terracotta Warriors

  1. Terry says:

    I’ve never done ‘books on cd’ but it really sounds like a nice way to sit out in the lounge chair, feet up, eyes closed and hear some one read to you. May have to try that.

    Like

  2. Joe says:

    I love that whole thing with those warriors! That’s one of those things I’ve always wanted to see with my own eyes up close and personal…I’ve seen some articles in The National Geographic about them. The audio I’ve been listening to has been all about Megadeth’s new album EndGame…keeps my blood moving when I get sleepy! Jet lag is really taking it’s toll on me. Anyway, I hope all is well with you for the most part. I hear you on the oil prices…sigh, my dad always worked as a welder at refineries so I know what like to depend on the same thing that kills you at the pumps.

    Like

  3. Ann says:

    Thanks for all your stopping by times at my space. :)

    Like

  4. john says:

    Audio books are cool, like you said when well presented, been listening for years back to the days of cassette tapes, now on mp-3.Glad to hear you were intact when you made it to work.

    Like

  5. R U Serious says:

    After a few comments and some personel messages concerning healthcare, I got to thinking. Between private healthcare, Medicare and Medicaid, along with State run healthcare, the majority of us are aleady covered. The druggies and illegals don’t really fit into the equation. I realize that there are people who are self-employed or not old enough to qualify for the ‘Medis’ and Obama’s healthcare plan should focus on them. The fiscal impact will not be as large as the Repulicans claim if we only target the indiduals who need a deserve it. Don’t even get me started on ‘Universa’l’ healthcare. This country already provides that!Have a Great week,Bob~

    Like

  6. Sherry says:

    I have never listened to an audio book. I would imagine the right person could ruin it or make it so interesting that you don’t want to turn it off though. I might try it someday.I sure hope this new medicine does the trick for you. Life without pain would be wonderful wouldn’t it. I pray that it does.HugsSherry

    Like

  7. Babblelot says:

    I was pull’in yer leg about the terracotta pots *smile* How cool to be able to see some. I pray your Papa’s flight to be safe. I love audio books! I have a boxfull I got from an estate auction. You are right, it takes a good pleasing voice who’s really into the story whilst reading it aloud. There should be samplings of the book to know this. Seems every company wants it yesterday eh? Have a good meeting and don’t jump up and yell "Liar!". LOL.

    Like

  8. Cindy says:

    Back when I was working my no-brainer part-time job I listened to over 200 audio books. You’re so right about having a good reader. It always amazed me how they could change their voice to sound like different characters. I really enjoyed them and kinda miss listening to them. Hang in there and enjoy your books. Now I’m heading over to Wiki to read about the Terracotta Warriors.

    Like

  9. Beth says:

    I have one audo book and I have never listened to it all of the way through. I would rather sit with a book and read it.I hope the new med does the trick.

    Like

  10. R U Serious says:

    Yeah!! You can borrow my soapbox anytime!! I’ll always move over!I really love and respect president Obama. He has done more in the short time in office than Bussh did in two terms and yet he says that Obama "Has no clue"! No, I’m not a real political man but someday I hope to learn the difference between Iraq and Iran.Take care,Bob~

    Like

Care to Comment?

