Surprising…

I’m surprised that I am taking Teddy Kennedy’s passing harder than I thought. I’ve been at all six’s and seven’s since and am just on the edge of tears some times. Heck… I couldn’t even get through the evening news, which was in the most part about Teddy. So… I’m sitting here thinking about being an American and what it means to be an American with out a Kennedy there to help.

As an American, I am hyper aware of what “internationals” think of Americans and their bitter dislike. I thought of the times we’ve gone to help and been treated poorly, yet helped anyway. There are many countries who publicly denounce Americans as the evil perpetuators of the world, and then privately take our money. In recent years I have thought that we should stop sending our money to help and let them suffer in their own insults. I’ve noticed, thought, that I’m starting to change that perspective. I think it’s because we’d still be the bad guy. Why? Because we’d have all this money and we’re not sharing.

So, I’m beginning to, I think, transform my attitude to that of the WWII generation. Come, help, leave and ask for nothing. No public statements, no comments back no answer to the rhetoric. Just help, and no comment. It’s a good perspective on how to balance life, too. Be there, be strong, help and keep your opinion to yourself. Leave when they’re capable of handling things themselves, when they’ve got their feet under them.

And so you’re wondering how do these thoughts come up when we started talking about Teddy? Well, his passing has brought them up. He was the end of an era, another reminder that the older generation, the greatest generation, is fading fast and we need to step up to the plate.

So who is the next Teddy? Is it me? Is it you? Or, maybe, it’s all of us…

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Surprising…

  1. Cindy says:

    I’m having a hard time watching lots of the stories about Teddy too. Although I laugh whenever they show one of the clips of him singing. Oh my goodness, he loved to sing, but couldn’t carry a tune across the street!You hit the nail on the head though, being from the greatest generation. A generation that knew success wasn’t a given, you had to work hard and long. There aren’t many left with that kind of work ethic.

    Like

  2. Beth says:

    This is a very good post Juli. We do need another Ted Kennedy, actually we need a lot more than one like him.

    Like

  3. john says:

    someplace in the sewer is the work ethic,

    Like

  4. CAROL says:

    I agree totally.. they will give his send off the coverage it deserves as he was one of a kind and I will be watching it. Because he suffered such violent losses and pain in his life he really was a person who cared for so many. The family has lost their uncle and we have lost our fighter, hero and friend.

    Like

  5. Terry says:

    You sure have the right of it. He deserves a tribute like this. No matter what went wrong he found a way to pull himself back up and go on, giving to help others.

    Like

  6. Babblelot says:

    It is so sad of Teddy (the family’s rock) passing. Maybe now people are realizing just what he all did.Thanks for your visits and support. Hope your weekend rocks!

    Like

  7. R U Serious says:

    New post tonight….. More firefighter pics!! LOLSorry we lost Ted Kennedy. He He worked for the underdog.104F here today!! More fires popped up. I think if no homes are in danger, let it burn!Have a Super weekend!!Bob~

    Like

  8. R U Serious says:

    Hey Fizz! Two more posts since you last visited, full of firghter pics! Fires are getting worse here.Hope you’re having a nice weekend.Bob~

    Like

  9. kïrstin says:

    i always feel a little strange when something or someone is gone that has been around for much of my life. its a grief thing, change always brings some form of loss.kïrstin☼

    Like

  10. Rita says:

    I was not a fan of Teddy’s but I thought the same thing you did. A generation is disappearing..

    Like

  11. Sherry says:

    No you’re not alone, I felt terrible too when he died. I know other countries hate us but not much we can do about it. Funny how they hate us so much but when they need something who do they go to….US the good old USA.Have a great day HugsSherry

    Like

  12. Leona says:

    I agree, he will be truly missed. I could not watch too much of the coverage, leaves me feeling down. My thoughts and prayers go out to the family, they are going to miss him so much. I hope you have a good week.

    Like

Care to Comment?

