And the diagnosis is….

Yesterday was Endoscopy day…Here’s the blow by blow.

I got up at my normal time and then made the travel to the clinic that does nothing but Endoscopies. It was about 15 miles from home. Papa drove, I was in “comfy”: cloths as was directed by the instructions on my get ready paper.

I got there and… waited. I waited for 25 minutes for them to call my name after I signed in. I gave them all of the paper work I pre-filled out and let them scan my DL and Insurance card and then sat down to wait some more.

The nurse came out and called my name, and I was off for what? More waiting. I went in and changed my cloths into this full length gown with, you guessed it, a hole down the back end so you could moon everyone. It’s saving grace was that it was thick and soft. I was in bed and listening the the whiner next to me, a woman who was just insistent on whining and crying and basically being a nuisance for the nurses.

I got an IV with glucose solution. I drained that sucker lickety split. They said I was thirsty, I said I was, and they gave me another one. I was cold, I got another warm blanket for my body and then another blanket for my feet. My feet get really cold due to the meds to keep my heart rate down.

My Dr was running late. I laid there and watched patients come and go… I listened to the whiner, who finally left… she was getting a colonoscopy and an endoscopy… both ends, how horrible. I watched the cute male nurse run around with the rest of them, he smiled and winked at me as he went by. I thought about getting my cell phone out of my purse so I could play one of the games i have installed there for just such an occasion.

Finally, they wheeled me out of the holding area, down a hall to the room with my Dr and her assistant. It was fun, but I felt like I was on display the whole way. I really didn’t like it, but what can you do… it’s far better than walking down there with your bare butt hanging in the wind…

My Dr said hi and asked me how I was doing. I told her I’d been relegated to soup for the last two days. She’s a good Dr. She looked worried and said we’d check it out. I think she’s the first MD that I’ve seen that has shown compassion and concern. My Nurse Practitioner does, but not many MD’s. I really like her.

So then, I rolled on my side. They put towels under my head. They sprayed my throat with something that was supposed to taste bad, but really didn’t… just different. I had a white thing put in my mouth and tied down and then… darkness. I don’t remember much. I remember the feeling of the scope going down, vaguely.

Then next thing I remember… I’m in a different holding pen and papa’s there with me. My Dr came out and explained everything… don’t really remember that but I know she told papa something and he nodded and she gave him papers. That’s all I remember is seeing her and him together.

Then, away he went, The nurse helped me change… good thing because I was all thumbs and elbows… we cheered tho, I was able to hook my bra myself. WOOT!

I hopped in my chariot and was wheeled out to the waiting car which was Papa. We went home… I was tired and slept on the way there.

I got home, I slept and I stayed in my jammies all day.

I did finally read the report. Here are the results. There are No Polyps. There are no Ulcers. There are no pre-cancerous cells on the Esophagus (really good!). We specifically checked the Esophagus because Papa had two brothers die from Esophageal Cancer. My Esophagus is just red and irritated and my tummy too. She took a biopsy in my tummy to confirm that the H. Pylori bacteria is still there. I’ll hear from her in a week on that test.

So… great news. Really great news. I was worried and so I’m glad it’s nothing worse than what it is.

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

PS – Here’s a hero I can appreciate!

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to And the diagnosis is….

  1. Sherry says:

    Happy to hear the good news. Hate having those tests but always glad when they come back good.

    Like

  2. Androgoth says:

    FIZZY..My first visit to your blogs and what do I find? A very interestingly writtenpiece on your day at hospital.. Horrible places those especially the grossopen back gowns they insist that peeps wear but I guess that’s just routinefor the jollies it produces.. Well for them anyway.. lol The best part of yourstory is the ending where you have come through with flying colours, a fineresult to a most horrid experience.. Now that’s got to be a plus in anyone’sday.. I will call by later and read the rest of your blogs, commenting on someof them as I drift through your Live Space.. Be Well Fizzy..A N D R O G O T H Xx

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    Oh Juli what wonderful news, this will likely be the last blog I read before taking off and now I leave with a big smile on my face! A clean bill of health! I couldn’t feel better about that! You’re and answer to prayer my friend!

    Like

  4. Terry says:

    That is great news. Love the way you describe your day. Hugs

    Like

  5. Beth says:

    Wonderful news Juli!! Let’s celebrate!

    Like

  6. Ann says:

    Happy for you, sweetie.

    Like

  7. Babblelot says:

    I came to your post straight away first thing today. Great news girl!Now that makes my day!! Thinking of you HUGS!

    Like

  8. john says:

    great stuff…..be well and get better.

    Like

  9. Grandpa Dewey says:

    Great news, I keep saying that one of these days some one will re-invent those gowns.

    Like

  10. Rusty says:

    Doing the happy dance here Juli, that is awesome news. Hope what the doctor says is all good. Take care hun and have an great weekend. ……………..Rusty ((HUGS))

    Like

  11. Cheryl says:

    Glad you got good reports. I ONLY GO TO THE DOCTOR IF i AM IN GREAT PAIN, BLEEDING PROFUSELY OR A BONE IS STIKING OUT OF MY SKIN. Of course I have no insurance so in order to be seen I would have to have one of the mentioned conditions… Take care and stay cool.

    Like

  12. Leona says:

    This really is great news. I also I’m glad to hear it’s nothing worse than what it is and will keep you in my prayers. I hope you have a wonderful week.

    Like

  13. Duckie says:

    I think it is time that you stand straight and tall and exclaim, "TAA DAA!!!!" Wonderful news! Now, just roll with the flow. I will keep you in my prayers.Eileen

    Like

  14. R U Serious says:

    WOW!! Very detailed post! Glad everything looks good so far. It all sounds so familiar since I had thoat cancer back in the Stone Age. Oh, and speaking of ‘lickety split’?? So happy you got your gown on the correct way!! lol!! Sorry….Just relax and have a nice week. I’m sure your tests will turn out perfect!!Bob~

    Like

  15. Lori BJ says:

    Sounds all too familiar – i am tired of those scopes every twoor three years and they take polups out and I get better for a while… glad you had such great results so far

    Like

  16. Rambling says:

    Oh man Fizz…what an ordeal that would have been to me. I am especially glad you described it in detail because if that does come to me, I will have a much better idea what to expect. Wonderful news though and that makes it all easier to bear up under and with. If that bacteria, H Pylori is still there, does that mean a pre-ulcerous condition? Doing the happy dance for you. :-)(((HUGS)))

    Like

Care to Comment?

