My Wednesday Rant

OK… I like Wednesday’s being Rant day. So, I’ll partake, too!

I work as a software tester for a software company. My rant has to do with my job.

There is nothing that makes me angrier than to blame me for not finding a software bug sooner, particularly if you’re the person who writes the software code. Also, don’t say to me “My job isn’t to test the software”, unless you want to watch me come unglued.

I certainly don’t point a finger at a software developer and say “Your code sucks”, so don’t do that to me. In fact, I have to report software bugs in such a way as to not hurt your delicate sensibilities. So… suck it up and deal with the fact that you’re not perfect. None of us are perfect.

I missed something pretty big recently. Surprise, I’m human. But instead of just dealing with the problem, the entire team of developers that I work with pointed the finger right at me. My HDIC (head dood in charge) didn’t, but everyone else did. It upset me so much that i asked to be taken off the team. Fully taken off. They can’t do that because of the level of expertise I have for the product, but they cut me down to 1/2 time and put me on another project.

So… my rant is about accountability and pointing the finger at someone when you’re just as culpable.

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Wednesday -- Rant Day!. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Wednesday Rant

  1. Rambling says:

    I LOVE this. My oldest has the exact same job description that you do. As he knows code and etc he also writes programs for the Company and their clients too. But, far as I know..so far he has not been criticized..maybe he just didn’t tell me. :-)

    Like

  2. john says:

    Responsibility…..theirs….how dare.For every pointed finger there are three pointing backwards, that’s why it takes a screw-up to know a screw-up. Yep I make mistakes, now what does it take to take care of the problem.Some people….Geek rant on a Wed…..yeppers.

    Like

  3. Grandpa Dewey says:

    Rant on, Rant on, isn’t that like what goes around will come around? Did it cost any money? How else do they learn? many years ago I had a position as the end of the line inspector and with that position I had a S–t list, you messed up your name went on it. Boy did that ever make some people mad. It was even reported to the production manger, he cane by my place to see for himself, no problem.

    Like

  4. Babblelot says:

    The world seems to be finger pointers these days and that is a sad day when we loose sight we are all human.Good rant girl. Hope you are feeling better with the tummy and everything else going on.

    Like

  5. Joe says:

    Transfer of blame…something that’s been going on since the first couple. I think it is never beneficial to point at others, far better to work on solving the problem. There will always be human error…far better if we recognized our own shortcomings when dealing with others. Most excellent Juli!

    Like

  6. Beth says:

    Excellent rant!!! I saw this over and over again when I was working at the AFB from the lowliest basic airman to the colonels. You soon become adept at this little game called cover your ***, better know as CYA.

    Like

  7. Charlotte M Simonsen says:

    I hear you… and when I read a rant like that, I remember why I enjoy being retired now. the lack of responsibility of those that should shoulder it blows my mind. hope you have a good rest of the week. hugs, lottemae

    Like

  8. CAROL says:

    AMEN you are so right.. glad you are not working with those people as much any more. Disgusting when people think they can do no wrong. Sorry you have to deal with people like that.. take care : )

    Like

  9. Ann says:

    Good for you to stand up for yourself.

    Like

  10. Ann says:

    Good for you to stand up for yourself.

    Like

  11. Rusty says:

    Well I must say that is a justifiable rant if you ask me. You go girl!!!Have a good day……………..Rusty ((HUGS))

    Like

  12. Rambling says:

    You know, everywhere this is a place of work, there are people like that. I wish it was not so but it is. I don’t thinkl there is one of us who have escaped. :-(

    Like

  13. Rambling says:

    I saw your tweet about being officious..I like being officious sometimes. There are occasions that one needs to be officious. :-)

    Like

Care to Comment?

