Not such a good thing LOL!!

There are 3 WWII junkies with it a 10 ft radius in our department. There’s me, the TL across the hall, and the guy caddy corner across the hall.

Today’s topic, Axis Sally, Tokyo Rose and the T-34. Oh Yeah, and Lord Haw Haw.

Now, I am a buff, but can’t remember names. I have started watching the documentaries over and over again, in order to remember all of the battle names, all the Machinery names and all of the major player names. I can remember Sherman and Eisenhower, but there’s Montgomery and another fella that I can’t remember right now.

I can remember some of the planes: The Zero, the B-25, the Manchester, Lancaster, Spit Fire and Hurricane. I know that the American planes had Rolls Royce engines in them and that I can recognize the sound from inside our house. (There’s an air field that has several of the planes and I see them often) I will still run out of the house and wave like the small town bumpkin I am. And yes, I do that for helicopters, too.

I know a lot about the blitz and the longest day. I know that the big reason why the Germans didn’t win the battle for Britain is because they didn’t realise that what the Radar towers meant. Papa said that this was because radar was such a new technology and people just didn’t know a lot about it.

Both guys are in their early 50’s. They are surprised about two things. One, that someone of my generation is interested;and two, that it’s a woman. They’ve asked me why I am such a fan. It’s simple. We can’t let that happen again. We just can’t. But we do, so I remember the generation that did for me what I would do for the children of this world, and their children, too.

Exterminating someone because of race, color or religion goes against everything I believe in. Killing, just for killing sake. That’s what Hitler did. Oh sure, there was the power, but it was killing for killing sake. For heavens sake, he was 1/2 Jewish. He was trying to kill his father, I figure, because he ran off and left when Hitler was quite young. I guess if he exterminated all the Jews, he would get him eventually.

I needed talk about. It’s important not to forget. I don’t think people are, but we’re getting further away. 1000 WWII vets die every day. Someone has to keep the memory alive, to tap people on the shoulder and say… don’t forget, now.

And for my generation, that’s me.

And for today, that’s you too. Remember, and never forget. We can’t afford the consequences of forgetting.

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Not such a good thing LOL!!

  1. Joe says:

    How true that all is my friend. I have a deep interest in the wars that America has been involved in particular. I have huge picture filled books on many of our wars and haven’t just looked at the pictures but actually read each bible size one of them. For some reason I have often found myself going back to Vietnam and the Civil War in particular. I’m seeking out some good books on the Revolutionary War and the Korean War We truly must never forget.

    Like

  2. john says:

    The Battan death march….New Guinia….Luzon….then the Islands….Pacific TheaterN africa….Rommel…Italy…..10th Mtn Division….western Front…..russian winter …The ghettos an Bliyz’s ….D-day… the beaches…argonne …Maginot…the bulge….Argentinia….Chili….BrazilThe list goes onWWII ….a war to end wars….hah

    Like

  3. Beth says:

    I was a very small child during WWII, my husband was in Korea, my brothers served 2 terms each in ‘Nam and now I am living during another war. I pray to God that the wars will be over in my lifetime. Excellent post Juli.Hugs,Beth

    Like

  4. Babblelot says:

    History buff you are and good for you! I chuckle bout go’in out an waving at the sky pilots.As a kid I’d run out an wave at the farmers driving by on their tractors. As a teen I’d raise outmy arm an ‘pull’ so the 18 wheelers would blast their horn…lol. My Dad fought in the Europeantheater on the front lines got hurt and back to the front line. He was captured and killed his captorand crawled by night to get to american soilders. He’s my hero. Why I wouldn’t have been born ifhe never made it back!

    Like

  5. ♥ Aimee says:

    you know…it’s true…we should remember everyday the lives that were given and are still being given to keep our lives the way that they are…although i am not a huge history buff…i do find that i am learning more now that i am working in the retirement homes…some of the men there have great stories…~*:.♥.:*~ because you shared a smile :o) someone’s day got brighter… ~*:.♥.:*~

    Like

  6. Rusty says:

    Well Julie dear, my hat is off to you. I do not watch all the documentaries but I do my part by being in the Ladies’ Auxiliary for my Legion by helping provide for the veterans who remain by giving them comfort especially the ones in nursing homes. My Dad was in WW11 and was always a member of the Royal Canadian Legion but is now too old and feeble to take part so I am carrying the torch for him and making sure we never forget what those brave souls did so we could live in freedom . I march in the parade on November 11 every year so that I can remember and be thankful for what we have because of their unselfish sacrifice. Lest we forget, indeed. Kudos to you sweety for taking the time to remember and care……….Rusty ((HUGS))

    Like

  7. john says:

    wasn’t trying names….just trying to rember some of the ugliest battles from WWII. Tomorrow they rember Hiroshima(sp), the death of 140,000 people. What lots forget is how many people the japanese killed and many more they would of killed if there had not been the bomb. Yes the bomb was ugly but I believe it made people sit up and take stock of what war is all about, death and destruction. Since the the character of war has changed, Korea a half ass battle, Vietnam a poor excuse and look at the middle east.How many people were killed in the WWII, both sides, the allies and the axis. ….Question is…As mankind, when will we stop trying to control others and be accepting of each other.

    Like

  8. kïrstin says:

    ive recently developed an interest in WWll myself. it came about after playing a video game based on the involvement the nazis had in the occult, especially himmler. i became somewhat fascinated with it. some time later i was informed by my mother that we have german in our linage. i was quite surprised.as for hitler, i thought it was his mother that was a jewess. perhaps i was mistaken …the anti nausea med is metoclopramide. its actually a people drug :) good to hear from you my dear ;)kïrstin☼

    Like

  9. Sherry says:

    My hubby and I watch those documentaries too. We just had a B-17 here at our local airport only I didn’t hear about until it was gone :(. I would have gone and seen it if I’d known. You are so right, WE MUST NEVER EVER FORGET. It’s too dangerous.This is a great post and good for you to keep the message going.HugsSherry

    Like

Care to Comment?

