Old memory from a recent news blurb…

When I was a little girl, we would go to Oscoda, Michigan where Nana’s brother lives. We would go in the summer for fishing and in the winter for snowmobiling. In Oscoda is a base called Wurtsmith Air Force Base, as shown below:

image

What I remember is driving by and seeing the B-52’s all lined up ready to go. They were the 5-Minute men in that they could get wings in the air in under 5 minutes. On one trip, my Uncle (who is a retired navigator for the USAF, active through most of the cold war) arranged for us to be able to drive among the planes. We weren’t to stop, but we could drive real close and I could hang out the window and oogle at them. This was a great treat and a rarity, something only a Retired Major could pull off. I have always been a military fanatic. I’ve always loved them. I could never be them, my health has been too bad, but I always have had hero worship the folks who were willing to lay their life on the line.

What prompted this memory? Well, the Sunday news reported that a “location” in NE Michigan is being considered for many of those Guantanamo Bay detainees, and my first thought was Wurtsmith and my second though was “Sure… pick a State that can’t afford to say ‘No’!” So… one small thing triggered a wonderful memory.

So… speaking of sick. I had a 2nd test for that H. Pylori bacteria I told you about several months ago. Well, I still have it. And, it shows. I feel horrible and have stopped eating all but a little bit of food a day. Less than a cup and a half. If I eat too much if feel wretched. I asked for the Dr. that was recommended to me, the wait for him was August 24th. I finally called back and said “I can’t wait, gimmie someone else”. She said “which one” I said “I don’t care”. That really threw her for a loop, because she stuttered for a second. She said, “You have to choose.” I said, “I don’t care, you pick one. The soonest.” That really threw her for a loop, because she stuttered for a second. Finally, she said “We have 5 men and 1 woman” and I said “Gimmie the woman” and I got in August 6th. That’s this Thursday. Thank God. I’m about down to feeling like absolute kack here, I need something done, quick. I’ve been feeling really bad for about 6 months now and I’m done with it. It’s exhausting. I’m tired of it.  Don’t take this to be suicidal, because it’s not, but a person just can’t live life like this. Seriously.

So, y’all have a good Monday. Mine’s been iffy. I was intentionally left out of a meeting at work that was about my software module. If they would have told me that they wanted to do a Gap analysis from someone who isn’t involved with the product, I would have been ok. But no one said nothing. So, I went and scheduled an appointment with the Big Guy (head dood in charge) and bluntly asked him if I was being fired. He said absolutely not, and told me why they were doing it that way and I’m ok with it. I told him that in the future, perhaps one should be told that, rather than thinking the worst.

I gotta run, they expect me to work around here… go figure!

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Old memory from a recent news blurb…

  1. Beth says:

    Julie, I am so sorry you feel bad. I have been there with that pilori thingy and bleeding ulcers too. However that bad tasting med did work for me. I really do hope they can figure out what to do for you because I don’t like to see you suffering so.Hugs,Beth

    Like

  2. Ann says:

    All the best to you.

    Like

  3. Terry says:

    Oh, I feel so bad that you still hurting. I certainly pray they get it cleared up real soon. Hugs,

    Like

  4. R U Serious says:

    Sounds like bad day for you hun!! I don’t blame you for leaving that meeting and hope you begin to feel better soon. Sorry….. Loved your post about the B-52’s! Take care Fizz!!Bob~

    Like

  5. Babblelot says:

    Oh that bacteria thingie is nothing to fool around with. You get them to rid it for you as it’s dangerous.Hang in there and Thursday you demand help. Big Hugs!!!

    Like

  6. john says:

    I sat on a SAC base during the Cuban missle crisis. The flying gas stations were stationed there. It got kind of spooky for a couple of days. Watching the big boys playing poker over some missles. Luckily Kruchev backed down. There was some heavy artillary in the air those few days.Bacteria eating bacteria, I like eating yogurt to clear my stomach. But bacteria is serious. Figure out something, Take care

    Like

  7. Joe says:

    Don’t get me started on the Gitmo detainies…argh! That aside, I’m really sorry to hear that the virus has made you so miserable for so long and can only pray that you find the right doc for the job. I’d say it’s past time for some relief for you. Bless you my friend.

    Like

  8. Cynical says:

    Death to Helicobacter pylori bacteria!! We don’t want Grumpy Pants to get grumpier than Doc, do we? I assume you’ve already searched the web for whatever you can find, but do take the advice of mentioning all symptoms (whether you think they’re related or not) and any medications, even OTC, that you’re taking. Essentially, anything that makes you produce more stomach acid or is acidic in itself can make the condition worse. I learned that they can make you try to swallow barium solutions while you’re nearly standing on your head and they’re filming it. I suspect they replayed that film many times for laughs. Best wishes for a speedy recovery and I’m glad you liked the F-22 photo I posted.Peace, Doc

    Like

  9. JoAnn says:

    Gee, if they move those gitmo detainees to Michigan that’ll sure be a bitter change in climate for’em! I hate that! Sure hope the doctor is able to do something for ya! Keeping you in my prayers.

    Like

Care to Comment?

