The new, old me

Since going through the wringer here at work, people have said that I have changed. They say that I’m not as smiling or as friendly as I used to be. This is true. I am not that person. I have, in fact, reverted back to my High School days. When I was in high school, I was very aloof and didn’t say much of anything to anyone. I did talk to my friends and I was open with my friends, but if you weren’t in my immediate circle, I was not going to open up and say much of anything and if I did it was usually sarcastic in nature.

I worked hard to get myself to be more open, to smile more and to be more friendly. It was very hard work. Now, it’s very hard work to revert back to my more reclusive self. All’s well that ends well, I’ll just have to keep it up. Now, when ever I want to speak in a meeting, I just think “No! Stop! Stop it! No!” until the urge passes. I sometimes bite my tongue. Nana always said MYOB (Mind Your Own Business) and so, if there’s anything that doesn’t effect me directly, I don’t have an opinion on it.

I know that many of you are readers. And, I know that many of you are big time readers. I love to read. A long time ago I began tracking what I was reading because I began to repurchase books to read (accidently) and that is the biggest waste of money, ever. So, I started going to Living Social where they have a section to log and review your books (as well as Albums, Beer, Movies, Restaurants, Slopes, TV Shows, Video Games & iPhone Apps). You can search based on Author, Title or ISBN and you store based on ISBN. I can Add to my collection by “Already Read” “Reading now” and “Want to Read”. AND, you can label if you own the book, borrowed the book or other labels. Plus, after you log on and register, you can link to your Facebook account. You can also print out a list, to keep in your purse/wallet of the books you’ve read so you don’t re-purchase. ‘Course, if you have a smart phone, you can just go to the website and look it up.

Another problem with reading all the time is the amount of books I’ve already read just laying around with nothing I can do with them. That’s when I found my money saver Paper Back Swap. You log on books, your first 10 gets you 2 credits. After that, when ever you send out a book, you get a credit, and you get one deducted when you ask for one. You pay for the shipping of the book, but you ship media mail, so it usually costs around $2.30, that’s 1/3 of the price of paper back now a days. You can print a wrapper from PBS, but I decided to purchase mailing envelopes, it’s easier than trying to tape an 8.5 x 11 around a book. THAT’s like trying to nail Jell-O to a wall.

So… happy reading. I’m starting Stalingrad by Antony Beevor this weekend. It’s going to be excellent. It’s about the Siege of the Nazi’s when they invaded Stalingrad in 1942-1943. I’ve seen several documentaries on this Siege and am excited to read the book. You’d think Hitler would have learned from King Charles & Napoleon, but no, he thought he could do it.

Have a good weekend, if I don’t write you before then.

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The new, old me

  1. Beth says:

    Yes, I am one of the big time readers. I started reading in grade school and I have been reading ever since. At one time I was hooked on romances and now I am hooked on murder mysteries although I am wild about the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. I will give any book a try although it has to pass my 15 page test. If after 15 pages I am not into the book I put it down and I am finished with it. I will check your links out. THANKS!!Good idea to think before you speak. Wise grandmother you had.

    Like

  2. Joe says:

    I used to read much more before I had three kids of my own that require as much attention as they do. Perhaps someday I’ll get back into it. For now I figure the library will be my reading source LOL, I know it’s old fashion but that’s how I roll for now. Have a great weekend yourself my friend.

    Like

  3. Ann says:

    Whatever you read, I hope it will helpyou get back to your cheerful self.

    Like

  4. john says:

    Hitler was the heigth of arrogance, he thought he was invincinble(sp). Compare his arrogance with some of the polticans of today, both sides.Reading is a great occuptation, not much pay, but the rewards are great. I use Goodwill a lots, 1-2 bucks for a book, return it for donation, a tax break. Let somebody else read it. I use Abe books on the net for specialty and out of print books. Open the cover, the adventure awaits.Smile the greatest asset in the world, makes them wonder what canary you are digesting..Have a great one.

    Like

  5. Babblelot says:

    I jist love ya girlie but why would you want to revert and convert into a wall flower? I know you have pain and so do I but to shut in and shut up causes me to ask why my dear? You worked hard to get where you are and you speak up and you have a wonderful job. Yes with aggravations but all jobs have them. Now you tell the old you to take ah hike and get that smile back. You may have to go to Florida to find that smile. You may have forgot it there on vacation. HUGS!!!

    Like

  6. Naomi says:

    Books are never going to go out of style, regardless of Kindle and other options (which have a place). Just recently they opened a website of the forst-ever bound book: Codex-Sinaiticus. It is the earliest written Book of what we now know as The Bible. Believer or not, it was certainly a leap forward in terms of recorded history. Thankfully, there were dedicated scribes who left it to us many time over. As for the meetings, you are right, original thought is no longer welcomed in our society. A degree or money will give you power, control, or the title, but it does not confer intelligence or wisdom. A friend of mine has a wonderfulway of say OH in a tone that says everything but never leaves you quateable. I am never saying to give up, but make a difference where you can. It is understandable, albeit unbearable, to watch a trainwreck, but that is what you sometimes have to do in order to survive. Keep your values, and share your wisdome when you can. BUT! DO NOT EVER discount yourself in the process. John, have you ever read, ‘The German Generals Talk?’ Great read, and they did validate the same sentiment as you. The height of arrogance is micro-management, but in the end, the micro-manager will expose an underbelly, one only has to wait. There will be an aveneger in the wing to take them out when the opportunity arrives. It never fails, but it sometimes is intemrinable the wait…I have also found that wwww.craigslist.com is another great source for books.

    Like

  7. Shelly says:

    I used to read all the time. Now it’s not the same for me. I’m trying though. I’ve just got to find a non violent good book as the others are just too close to home. Hope your weekend is good.

    Like

  8. Naomi says:

    If you ever get a chance to read Mrs. Mike and The Search for Bountiful by Benedict and Nancy Freedman, I think you will ennjoy them. Just a good old-fashioned story set in Canada in 1800’s. Read it in HS and just found out there was a sequel. Good wishes and keep looking forward!

    Like

  9. ♥ Aimee says:

    everyone changes and as long as you still feel good about you…then who else matters?~*:.♥.:*~ because you shared a smile :o) someone’s day got brighter… ~*:.♥.:*~

    Like

Care to Comment?

