Home at last!

I’ve finally made it home, a long drive has been completed. On the way, I saw an exit that a dear online friend might recognise:

DSCN0347 DSCN0346

On the way back, we stopped at the USS Alabama, here’s a photo of me with some big guns:

DSCN0431 DSCN0434

I’m just wore out. But, the visit to the USS Alabama was really neat. I wasn’t able to do all of the tours, they’re about 2 hours each. So, I did just one mostly. Next time I’ll finished that one and make it to the bridge and then do another tour. 

I think the thing that surprised me most of all is that the aft portion of the battle ship deck is made out of Teak wood. I didn’t realise the aft portions of battleships in that time frame was made out of wood.

I’ve posted my USS Alabama photo’s in an album (well in the process now) so you can see as well.

Happy Saturday nite

Fizz

© ‘Fizz’ 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Home at last!

  1. Joe says:

    Welcome home my friend and thanks for sharing the pictures. My gosh, if I wore shorts with our weather now I’d be a human popsickle!

    Like

  2. CAROL says:

    AMAZING how large they are until you are really standing there on one. Glad you are home safe and sound.. stay well okay!That flu going all over texas they say.. ughhh I hate the thought. take care : )

    Like

  3. Babblelot says:

    Oh wonderful to see you smiling on a picture. So happy you made it home safe. Now rest up. Wonderful pictures of your vacation. Florida looks so pretty.

    Like

  4. Kuskulana says:

    Hey Fizz!Nice to see you had a good time, cool battle ship shots!hThe old first generation aircraft carriers ad wood deck too,they learned this wasn’t good design in WWII I believe.Take Care and Hugs from Alaska

    Like

  5. JoAnn says:

    Great pics! I hope you managed to get some rest. The first and last time I saw the USS Alabama, a family of mosquitos had me for lunch!

    Like

  6. Beth says:

    Glad you are back home safe and sound. I am off now to look at the rest of your pictures.

    Like

  7. Sherry says:

    Welcome home. The pics are great.

    Like

  8. Rita says:

    lol yep those signs do look familar :))I did the USS Alabama a few years back, it was fun.I’m glad you’re home safe and sound and papa made you a nice steak dinner.Yes, my crowntail is very aggressive like yours, but I read that they are more aggressive then other classes of betta.How long have you had yours?I loved your pictures!!Hugs

    Like

  9. ♥ Aimee says:

    glad that you enjoyed yourself!~*:.♥.:*~ because you shared a smile :o) someone’s day got brighter… ~*:.♥.:*~

    Like

  10. GreatGranny says:

    Glad you had a nice vacation, been a long time since I lived down there. Ann

    Like

  11. Cynical says:

    Hey Fizz. I’m not Freudian in my orientation, but if I were I’d have to say that it looks like the Alabama likes you. A lot.Peace, Doc

    Like

Care to Comment?

