The neatest thing!

I answered my phone at work this morning and got the following:

Is this “Fizz Grumpy Pants”?

Yes.

Did you live at Place A and then move to place B?

Yes.

Thank goodness, I’ve been looking all over for you!

It was none other than my friend Cheryl, a gal that I’ve known since grade school! She ended up finding me through Classmates. Since the phone number I provided was actually my Fax #, she decided to take a chance on my Employer being the same as the one listed and called my company’s main line and asked for me.

Isn’t that just freakin’ cool?

What’ve youse guys been doin’?  I’ve been being lazy. I’ve had a pretty boring week, I’ve been pretty focused and trying to get stuff done.

We had a meeting today where I was able to tell my TL “I’m not talking about everyone, I’m talking about me” when I said that I was very busy and he said that everyone’s very busy.

I’ve had an amazing change. I’m going to work and doin’ my work and I’m not gettin’ frazzled when they keep piling more and more and more on. I just keep going at a pace that I can get things done. No more, no less.

And, I’m not going to be busting my butt to make an unreasonable deadline. When I said that comment, I wasn’t frustrated. In fact, he backed right down because I said it quietly and calmly. It was nice. I was like that the whole meeting. Soft spoken and to the point.

Fun week!

Fizz

© Fizz 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The neatest thing!

  1. Joe says:

    You’re the bomb my friend! I salute your calm manner in such a situation. It’s said that a quiet answer turns away wrath and you sure proved it…good for you! I’m so glad to hear you like this…all my blessings to you my friend!

    Like

  2. Ann says:

    Good attitude for you! And that’s a great surprise to hear from an old friend.

    Like

  3. Beth says:

    Good for you Fizz. I am very proud of you.

    Like

  4. Babblelot says:

    Am I on the right blog? You should change yer name to Fizz happy Pants eh?Proud of you my girl. Now mail me some of that calm feel good ok?

    Like

  5. KatSoup says:

    Thats right talk softly and carry a big stick. ha ha

    Like

  6. Rita says:

    Very good Fizz, that’s how you get your point across.

    Like

  7. CAROL says:

    KAT took my line..hehheeh hope the rest of the week goes well too. catch ya on the twitter!! : )

    Like

  8. Shelly says:

    Glad your friend found you. Now go have some fun with her! Happy to ohear your work tude is good. xoxo

    Like

  9. Terry says:

    Way to go. Nice upbeat attitude. Hearing from an old friend, how nice.

    Like

  10. Sherry says:

    What a nice surprise you got when you answered the phone. Those are the kind we like to get isn’t it. Good attitude to have toward your work. Keep it up.

    Like

Care to Comment?

