More “Fun”

Here’s the latest email we’ve received…. Remember, we’re making a profit….

Dear colleagues,

Like every employer, ### is grappling with very difficult economic conditions in the midst of an unprecedented global slowdown.  As a result, we are bracing for a potential slow down in our sales in 2009.  For the long term success of our business, we are proactively looking at ways to control our expenses. 

Our single largest expense is the people expense – i.e., salaries, and fringe benefits for our employees. 

After considering many options, we have decided to suspend our employer match contribution to ###’s 401k plan.  This change will be effective immediately.  At the end of 2009, depending on how our business performs in the coming months, we may or may not decide to make a one-time contribution.  This one-time contribution is at the Company’s discretion and may or may not represent the same aggregate amount that we would have contributed under the bi-weekly payroll match process that has been used in the past at SMT.

If you have any questions on this matter, please do not hesitate to reach out to #### or myself.

Regards,

So there you have it… I’ll bet that there are more things coming. Maybe we don’t get free coffee anymore. They’ve entered into a contract, so that can’t take away our health insurance (at least I think they cant)

Papa says that this is what it’s like working for investors. I’ve no doubt that he’s right.

We’re going to lose a lot of good people. The software companies are still hiring and are, in fact, growing. They’ll just go there.

Me? Well I’ll stay here, I like my job. However, I’m going to shove as much money into my savings as I can so that, just in case, I’ll have something to hold onto.

Fizz

© Fizz 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More “Fun”

  1. Ann says:

    Putting money away for the proverbial rainy day is a good idea! And at the same time hope that day never comes.

    Like

  2. Shelly says:

    Putting money away is your best bet. My job is getting very shaky. VERY! And with hubby already laid off well it’s not going to be pretty on the savings account that THANK GOD we were able to have for some time and add to it.

    Like

  3. Cynical says:

    Maybe now is the time to start a home business selling anti-haiku cream. Just in case. I could write more so there would be a larger market.Peace, Doc

    Like

  4. JoAnn says:

    That really sucks about your 401K! Put away all ya can and hope for the best!

    Like

  5. Dana says:

    Yeah and the biggest factor in making them money is their "people" OMG! What a horrid thing to get! I thought it was a fake letter until I read the rest of your blog, how crazy! I think I would be sending a letter myself. "Dear ## after considering the economic situation realized my biggest cost is working, clothes, gas, energy, etc…. and I will have to reduce the effort and cost I put forth being employed by you…" I’m so sorry you had to get that crummy letter! Geesh….

    Like

  6. Joe says:

    No doubt about it that the speculation of the bad times being even worse is causing it’s share of trouble. I’m very sorry for the turmoil my friend. Likely you’re right about putting what you can in savings. Grace to you my friend.

    Like

  7. Teri says:

    Prepare for the worst – hope for the best!I DO hope the best for you my friend – especially in regards to the health insurance!God blessTeri

    Like

  8. Beth says:

    Oh Fizz, I am sorry about this! It doesn’t sound fair to me. I hope your health insurance remains stable.Hugs,Beth

    Like

  9. Rita says:

    Very scary times :(

    Like

  10. Babblelot says:

    This is the one someone sent; Dear Boss, Like every employee, ### is grappling with very difficult economic conditions in the midst of an unprecedented global slowdown. As a result, we are bracing for a potential cut in co-workers and benefits, bonus’s and free coffee and a Christmas party in 2009. For the long term success of our business together, we are proactively looking at ways to control your expenses. Our single largest expense is the CEO and upper management expense – i.e., salaries, and fringe benefits, air travel and large bonus’s among upper management. After considering many options, we have decided to roll over our 401k into our mattress’s. This change will be effective immediately. At the end of 2009, depending on how you the CEO treats us employees in the coming months, we may or may not decide to give 100% work performance for you the employer. This 100% work ethic is at the employee’s discretion and may or may not represent the same amount of work that we would have contributed if you cut our wages and benefits that has been used in the past. If you have any complaints on this matter, please do not hesitate to leave a message at the beep! Regards,

    Like

Care to Comment?

