Paying it forward…

I’m watching this movie… “Pay it Forward”, better late than never. I had originally wanted to see this in the theater, but knew it would make me cry and thus avoided it until it hit my movie channels here at home.

I’ve always been a firm believer in the concept. When I was out of work for  a brief period in 2001. I was out of my job and a friend, doing me a kindness, had gotten me a job selling spas for him to make money through selling and working for him.

When I was there working one day, I heard a loud “Bang” and saw a nice Lincoln Navigator hobbling along the freeway ( The spa place was right on the freeway). I run to the middle of the driveway and wave the limping dragon into the parking lot.

Out hops a fella about 75. A man on his way to his weekend property where his wife is already installed.

An hour later, after reading instructions, hanging upside down trying to get at a spare tire, getting it unstrung from the bottom of the vehicle and onto the front tire… He’s ready to drive off.

He wanted to give me money, pay for my time. No way, Jose!!! I told him… Just pay it forward.

He couldn’t believe it. Someone my age not wanting anything. And that’s where he drove off into the sunset… off to pay it forward.

Ain’t paying it forward fun???

Fizz

© Fizz 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Paying it forward…

  1. Beth says:

    You your bottom dollar it is! Good show Fizz!!

    Like

  2. CAROL says:

    YES it certainly is and one of these days it will come back to you ten fold!! HUGS to you. Happy Valentine’s DAY!!

    Like

  3. JoAnn says:

    It can certainly give you a "feel good" feeling. Hugs

    Like

  4. Beth says:

    That should read ‘you bet your bottom dollar it is.’

    Like

  5. Cindy says:

    Why can’t everyone live like this? What goes around, comes around.

    Like

  6. Cindy says:

    I noticed your background from pasty.com. Wow, what a website! Cool stuff over and up there.

    Like

  7. Sherry says:

    There are takers and there are givers and the givers usually end up haveing a favor returned to them. Yes I think paying it forwarad is great.HugsSherry

    Like

  8. Babblelot says:

    It’s done here mostly all the time. But here it’s when I need help I’ll call on you type of thing. Do fer me an I’ll do fer you. But pay it forward is really great! You changed a tire?

    Like

  9. Joe says:

    …and I know who that masked woman was! I thank that’s a great thing to do!

    Like

  10. Duckie says:

    This ‘paying it forward’ is turly all over the place. We just do and sit back and watch as it seems to come back to us.

    Like

  11. Ann says:

    Cool! Good for you.

    Like

Care to Comment?

