What hypnosis is like…

It’s not what you think it’s like, I can assure you. It’s very interesting indeed. The best way for me to describe it is that you’re conscious and your sub-conscious are side by side.

The conscious is on the right side of my brain/ear (or that’s how I perceived it), doing the silly things your conscious does… hearing a word and ringing off a song with that word in your head. It’s saying “how cool is this!” and twittering on at all the things that is going on… for it has nothing else to do.

The sub-conscious is there on the left side of my brain/ear, and I swear, you can feel it actively listening to the hypnotists words. It’s the most odd sensation, but I knew it was there and I knew it was curiously, if reservedly, listening. And… it was almost wondering why it was here being called in this manner. Not in a bad, way, mind, but just in a curious way because it had never done this before.

When I came out of the trance, the first thing I said was, much to the delight of my hypnotherapist, was “that was really cool!”. And it really was cool. And I was the most relaxed I can ever remember being even remotely close to, except when I’m in Florida for a week being a beach bum, and then that was only possible close example.

Now I know what you’re asking, did It work??? I dunno. I got the idea that my sub-conscious was going to take a wait and see approach. How do I know that? I dunno. It’s just a feeling that I had, which is why the hypnotherapist said that it would take more than just one session, I think. But, I think I’m going to be a little more serious around work and others, a little more reserved. Keeping more of myself to myself. Giving only after trust is earned.

My next session is in two weeks. I’ll keep you posted later in the weeks towards next weekend.

Fizz

© “Fizz” 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What hypnosis is like…

  1. Beth says:

    Good luck Ms Fizz!!Catch Simon Baker as the Mentalist tonight on CBS after the football game if you can. Time listed is 9:00 PM. Then let me know if your hypnotist looks anything like Patrick Jane. LOL

    Like

  2. Babblelot says:

    I had it done a few times and yes it’s really being beside yourself in more ways than one!I wish you well and keep in touch. Hugs!!!

    Like

  3. CAROL says:

    I do think that is cool too.. So many times it works for those who really are tired of other things to help. My uncle quit smoking one time because of hypnosis. I have seen some past life tapes of people who went back to who they were in othertimes.. it was fascinating.. I know I was an old soul and boy I must have been a dog once cause I am so allergic cats it isn’t funny. Hope it all works for you.. Take care sit in the sun for me huh.. I am so tired of snow.. YUCkkkk!! : )

    Like

  4. Cheryl says:

    I was in private practice back in the early 90’s and I had 6 clients that went into past life regressions. I kinda lost faith in the past life stuff after all of them revisited a life of a fameous person that is well documented in the literature. 2 of them were Hitler….Now that is a coincidence..BYW I have been under hypnosis before it it was not nearly as good as drugs. LOL

    Like

  5. JoAnn says:

    How interesting! Sure hope it works for you. Looking forward to hearing about your next session.

    Like

  6. Ann says:

    I’m not in favor of hypnosis, myself, because I don’t like to give my thinking over to someone else, no matter how benign. We’ll see how it goes for you.

    Like

  7. Shelly says:

    I don’t think I would trust anyone to take me into a level like that. YIKES!

    Like

  8. Happy says:

    Thanks for description I could understand. I’ve never been hypnotized but I could get the experience from your entry. Thanks. Have a splendid week Fizz.

    Like

  9. Spider Monkey says:

    Oooh hypnosis…can’t wait to see if it makes you feel better. I tried acupuncture and it worked wonders. :) -og

    Like

Care to Comment?

