Does gettin’ a tattoo hurt?

Hell, Yes!!!

There are different places on the body that hurt less than others… the meat on your arm or back shoulder where there is more fatty tissue will not hurt as much as a tattoo that sits on the spine.

Where needle can hit bone, it will hurt more.

Originally, I only wanted 1 tattoo… but tattoos, they get into your blood. Once you get one, you’ll want more. I already have thoughts on my next 4. Yes… I’ll be getting at least 4 more. I can almost hear Papa shudder.

There are several different types of tattoo guns. If your artist, or should I say in this case Tattooist, only uses one, then you may not be getting the best tattoo you can get. It’s far better to go to someone who’s an artist and trained as an artist first that then becomes a tattooist. You can’t train in natural artistic talent.

My best suggestion in looking for an artist is to Google it. You can go by reputation but you also need to look at skin. A good tattoo will look like a piece of art, a bad tattoo will look like a tattoo. You can, as my piece of work shows, have a nice piece of art on your body that doesn’t even remotely look like a tattoo. You want the word “Tattoo” to be the 2nd thing a person thinks of when they see your ink.

You want a piece, that when people see it, they gasp and say “Wow!”, which is what tattoo covered guys did when they looked at my ink while in the process. That’s a good tattoo, when people in the business say WOW.

You want to view a tattooists work on skin. NOT in a photograph, tho in the case of great tattoo’s they will still look great in a photograph. A bad tattoo will look like “just a tattoo” on skin. If your going for a tattoo for the sake of a tattoo, then ok. But if your going for art and for something that’s dedicated for just you, then you need to do your leg work and home work on this.

When you finally pick your artist, then take some concepts or pictures and images of what you like, but fully expect and ask for artistic freedom. You’ll want him to create a piece that is just for you and you’ll be the only one wearing it. In this tattoo, I told my artist the following information:

  • I like Amy Brown
  • I like this Fall Colors in this piece
  • I like the tree with faces in this piece
  • I like the branches in this piece
  • I don’t like the way the fairy is sitting in this piece

He then did some web research and drew out a sketch. He showed  me the sketch and told me what he’d be doing with the color scheme and I was thrilled. We went from there and this piece is one of the best ones he’s done, in his opinion, and the opinion of his colleagues.

Also… Tattooists get awards. Ask them what kind of awards they have. If they don’t have any awards, look for another tattooist. My tattooist has a lot of awards. He only has one displayed, but he has many many awards. Ask the names of the awards and research the awards. If he’s won them, his name in conjunction with the award will be in Google somewhere. You can even call the group that provides the awards to be sure.

So you’re probably wondering what a bad tattoo looks like. Here’s a few examples:

bad_amy1 

bad_amy2

bad_amy3

bad_amy4  

The last one looks like a good tattoo… until you start really looking… the Shading on the wings is not that  good… you can see that it’s blotchy and the outline of the wings is also awkward. Also, some of the shading is outside the lines, yikes!

Heres an example of a great tattoo:

great_amy

 

This should get you pointed in the right direction, if you’re interested in getting your very own tattoo!

Fizz

© “Fizz” 2009

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Does gettin’ a tattoo hurt?

  1. Beth says:

    I think I will pass on getting a tattoo. I do think yours is beautiful though.

    Like

  2. Ann says:

    Great points to consider. Interestingly, I think I found the right guy without knowing a thing! :)Best,Nan

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    Interesting factors to consider there my friend, I can imagine how all of that would be very important.

    Like

  4. Leona says:

    OH!MY!!GAWD!!!I am chicken to the bone when it comes to needles, can’t even watch when they take blood for a blood test, have to turn my head away. You are some brave lady, must have a high tolerance for pain. The pics are beautiful.

    Like

  5. Babblelot says:

    No tattoo for me, but do awe at some great tattoos though.

    Like

  6. Sherry says:

    The bottom one is really pretty but I think I’ll pass lol. Besides, I’m too old now and they would think i was nuts and put my in a home hehe.Have a great week ahead.HugsSherry

    Like

  7. Rambling says:

    you should come and look at my blog from yesterday. It’s also about tattoos.I have a tiny tiny one on my shoulder. And one just as tiny elsewhere. The girl I met yesterday in the store had hers done in a black light sort of way. Irridescent and bright.

    Like

  8. Marie says:

    Gee, I will certainly start looking at tatoos more closely from now on. Great writing, as usual, Fizz!!I have not been back to my space yet since my last entry a year ago, so I will have to go see how it looks with all the changes that I see here.Hugs, Marie

    Like

  9. Rita says:

    I think on and off about getting a tattoo, my daughter too. I never knew though, what would I get…now I know, I would get a tree. I love trees. So maybe one day…..lolI hope you and papa have a wonderful New Year and ThANK YOU for the Card!! that was soo sweet Big HUGS

    Like

  10. Rita says:

    oh..that last one is yours isn’t it? Did you and your mama get one together? It is beautiful

    Like

Care to Comment?

