Fizz’s Holiday Letter 2008

Dear Friends and Family,

As I sit down to write this letter, I’m amazed that yet another year has come and gone. It seems that some of you we only speak to during this holiday season, despite our best intentions to reach out throughout the year. Even though this is the case, you are never far from our hearts and are thought of with love and fondness often.

This year has been happy and sad for both of us this year. Papa welcomed his 3rd great grandchild Ryan Alexander Akers into the world on October 17th to the great pride and joy of his Granddaughter Brandy and her husband Tim. And, sadly, Papa lost dear friend and colleague, Ron N. We remember him lovingly and fondly, for he was a good man and will be missed by many.

Fizz and Papa did survive “Ike”. We had some damage, which got us a new roof and a new back fence. Our lemon tree was blown from standing straight, to standing at a distinct angle and the screened in porch had a “blow out”. In the end, we were without power for 10 days. Fizz didn’t go to work for a full week after Ike hit. Some of Fizz’s colleagues didn’t get power for a full 20 days after Ike made landfall. Some even wept when they got power and Fizz was among them.

Ike changed things around Houston & Galveston. It’s hard to say, but Galveston may never be the same. The devastation is simply amazing & daunting. There are some photos and events that are simply hard to believe. Houses scoured from the area as far as the eye can see, people floating on patio furniture in Galveston Bay for 14 hours during the hurricanes landfall. Hundreds of deaths and still about 400 people who are missing and presumed dead. The one thing that this has done is made us more grateful for each other and the things that we do have. Life is precious and we are both glad that we have each other.

Fizz continues to work at SMT & this March will mark her 8th year with the company. There have been many changes since the last Christmas. Fizz has a new Director of Quality Assurance and a new Team Lead. Both are very well respected in their field. They have encouraged Fizz to continue to strive for excellence and so Fizz is now studying for the CSTE, the professional certification for Software Testers. By this time next year, Fizz will be able to put fancy letters after her name and be able to call herself “certified”, though in what we haven’t figured out quite yet.

Fizz has been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. This is a hard diagnosis to hear, but Fizz has never been one to let anything stop her. She is looking at natural remedies and is consulting others with this syndrome and planning for a pain free future. The diagnosis wasn’t really a surprise; Fizz has been fighting chronic pain for several years, and is just happy to have a label to associate with everything that has been going on.

Papa has been really busy with remodeling his bathroom. He tore out the old bathtub, fixed the plumbing so that it worked properly and didn’t leak. He put a new tub surround in, has put texture on the wall and is ready to paint and then put down new floor vinyl. After all that, he’s purchased a new water conserving toilet, and then the remodeling will be done and he can rest. Just in time for the holidays!

So there it is another year and another letter. We look forward to your cards and letters every year and this year is no exception. We hope that your holidays are filled with joy, love and togetherness with you & your family. We would love to hear from you, so call us or email.

Much love and joy in this holiday season,

Fizz & Papa

PS We have a family blog… check us out at www.baileyscabin.com

© “Fizz” 2008 – All Rights Reserved

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fizz’s Holiday Letter 2008

  1. Beth says:

    A lovely post Juli. Thank you. I hope you are able to find some natural remedys to deal with the fibro. May 2009 be a blessed, healthy, happy New Year for you and yours.Hugs to a great gal,Beth

    Like

  2. Teri says:

    wonderful post! Thanks for sharing your life with us last year and look forward to next year! I understand the hurricane tears – been there – done that – we’ll both probably do it again – trade off for living in God’s country!! I STILL want you checked for chiari malformation!!! Merry Christmas – Happy New Year!Teri

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    That’s a full year, my wife compiled one of those the other day and it literally shocked me how much water was under the bridge in just one year’s time. I’m just glad you’re still with us after such devastating storms. Blessings to you for yet another year my friend…who can say what ’09 will hold?

    Like

  4. JoAnn says:

    A wonderful post, Fizz! I pray you’ll find those natural remedies for your pain! Wishing you and Papa a very Merry Christmas and may 2009 be all you want it to be. Warm hugs

    Like

  5. Ann says:

    A very nice letter. Well done!Best,Nan

    Like

  6. Shelly says:

    Many prayers and blessings going to you both!! Now about that bathroom project…don’t ya think a michigan gal should be down there in the sun helping supervising or something???? Take care ttfn

    Like

  7. Cindy says:

    I love getting and reading letters like this. Good job Fizz and Merry Christmas to you and Papa.

    Like

  8. Babblelot says:

    Great Christmas letter. Yes good job! Now I’m off to see your family blog!I want you to know dear, the afgan is simply extraordinaire! I actually snuggled and sleptwith it a number of times now. I believe your perfume is in it. It’s wonderful. What’s the name?

    Like

  9. Cynical says:

    Yes, the years pass both too quickly and too slowly when one is living alone with two cats. Too quickly because it’s nearly gone and I haven’t sorted out what I did yet, and too slowly because I took a lot of time not doing it. Wishing you and Papa the happiest of Holidays and good health and fortune in the new year.Peace, Doc

    Like

  10. Ann says:

    At mt blog, you wrote, ""Sounds nice! I’ll bet it would have been great on the new TV and sound.You doin’ ok? I hope so. I like you!"" Yes it would have been fully fabulous on your new system! Now, define "ok." LOL I try not to complain too much. My daughter reads the postings and I don’t want to alarm her. As they say, "be nice to your kids. They;ll be picking out your nursing home" <not so funny these days> And finally, I like you too! :)

    Like

Care to Comment?

