Home Theater experience!

Well, we’re now the home theater people. We  were just a large TV, no sound system but a killer DVD player people. Now… we’re Killer HDTV, Killer Sound System, & Killer DVD people.

I did not get a Blue-Ray dvd player. I don’t feel the need. My movies look great and I don’t want to get the added expense of the new player and start buying a more expensive movie.

I know, I know… you wanted to see pictures and I will gladly provide you pictures that were taken with my new Nikon S550. Yes, I got a new camera. we’ll talk about that later.

Here’s the Before:

DSCN0040

 

This is the During:

DSCN0042

Here’s the After:

DSCN0044 This thing is really, really nice. Just for grins, we watched Die Hard and we turned it up really loud. When he blew up the elevator shaft, holy moeley… it’ was loud and our chairs vibrated.

Looking at this photo, I realize we need to dust under the entertainment center… that’s what happens with these 10 mp cameras, like the Nikon S550, they show up everything. The sucker can hide behind a credit card. My friend didn’t believe me, until I hauled out one of my credit cards and placed the camera right behind it. AND it’s only about an inch thick.

I decided to buy new when I decided to go to my Mom’s for Christmas. Grandpa has been really sick and I decided to go up there to see him and get some good pictures of him. I have a great 8 mega pixel, takes gorgeous photos, but it’s really big, too big for flying. And, the small point and shoot I have just doesn’t take good photo’s in low light, like indoor light. This Nikon has a “Hi Sensitivity” setting for low light or fast action. AND, it has face recognition… nice.

Here’s a photo of papa taken with the Nikon:

DSCN0002

He’s wearing his “get that damn camera outta my face” smile. Do you like it????

OK, so I finally got my Christmas cards done. It took me all day to fold and stamp and sticker and jot notes. I only have 70 this year. That’s down by 30 from last year and that’s as low as I want to go. Some of these people, the only time we’re in contact is on Christmas and I want to make sure that I speak to them. The Christmas letter was good and I”m happy that everything went so smoothly. It took me longer than normal, but I did it even though I knew it was going to cost me pain. It did, but it’s over now and I can be happy with the result. I made sure to put extra stickers on Docs card… just cause I could! Oh go on

Finally, I put a Christmas smelling plug in smeller, cause our house doesn’t feel like Christmas, even with the Santa’s and poinsettia’s out.

Okie Doke… I’m off to bed. Love you guys!!!

— Fizz —

©“Fizz” 2008

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Home Theater experience!

  1. Cheryl says:

    WOW…I am on my way over. I never watched TV on such a fancy system…. Great gifts you all got yourselves….

    Like

  2. Ann says:

    Thanks for taking the time to show off your special purchases! What nifty goodies. Best,Nan

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    That looks pretty darn good though I have to say that BluRay is worth it. I have a PS 3 for mine and even on the old tv you can tell that it’s got DVD beaten silly. Actually so far the most economic way to go is a PS3 however if it’s not your bag it’s not. I hope you enjoy what you’ve got to it’s fullest…sounds fun!

    Like

  4. Rambling says:

    How great to see you today at my blog house!! I am a Nikon fan by the way. I have the low end Nikon. I wanted to learn something from it before I went up some with another. My boy has a D300. No way, Jose for me. Too much like work. He loves photography as a hobby though.Have a great day and love the new look there with the great electronics!! 😉

    Like

  5. ttboss007 says:

    what a lovely setup you got there nice size tv wouldn’t mind one that size myself. Enjoy them to the fullest and have a wonderful day.

    Like

  6. Beth says:

    Congrats on the new sound system and the new camera. The picture of papa is great.

    Like

  7. CAROL says:

    LOVE THIS… YES INDEED your new set up looks grand!! WOW.. I love your new camera and hope to get me one someday. They just amaze me how they can take such clear shots and be so small. HON.. LISTEN.. if you’re coming up north. BRING YOUR LONG JOHNS!!You sure gonna be needin them!! brrrrrrrrrr GREATttttt photo of papa.. I mean it.. if that is his outt a my face smile well he just is so happy looking.. Take care and safe travels when you do go. : )

    Like

  8. Shelly says:

    He is just adorable!!! Yes I’m familiar with that look as my hubby always says dont take my damn picture! tee hee!! Cool set up by the way. Heck I think I need one of those plug in doo hickeys since I think I’m living with the grinch this year! tee hee ha ha take care ttfn

    Like

  9. Leona says:

    Hey you lucky lady. Santa came early in your house, huh? You must have been really good this year. Have fun enjoying your new toys. I sure did love when I got surround sound, like being at the movies. LOL

    Like

  10. Sherry says:

    Boy oh boy you sure must have been a good girl this year. I guess I wasn’t lol. Your papa is a cutie, It sure is a difference in the picture quality.Have fun with your toys.HugsSherry

    Like

Care to Comment?

