A “First”

Well, Yesterday I had my very first Mammogram… I’ve reached the age for the “baseline”.

I have good news and bad news… the good news is that it didn’t hurt. The bad news is that it didn’t hurt because my neck and right upper back hurt so bad!

They let me see the images, tho, and that is just stinking cool… I’m such a science junkie!

— Fizz —

© “Fizz” 2008

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A “First”

  1. Joe says:

    Glad for the good report but sad about the pain my friend.  I think I would have looked at the image as abstract art but I have to admit that is cool stuff though I know little of the technology.

    Like

  2. Beth says:

    Mammograms are no fun and neither is back and neck pain.  I have arthritis and bone spurs in my neck and the pain is there all of the time.  Of course I know that you are no stranger to pain as you live with it on a daily basis.

    Like

  3. Duckie says:

    You still ar a hoot, even about serious issues.
     
    Stay well.
     
    Eileen

    Like

  4. Babblelot says:

    Ouch! Flattened like a pancake and you couldn’t feel that? You really had to be hurting today.I was too. Shall we have coffee and pain pills tonight? Take care my sweet girl!

    Like

  5. Leona says:

    Oh you are so brave. Good for you! I don’t even want to think about it ( I had my first one only last year and I’m amost 200 hundred years old). Hahahaaaaa !!!
     
    Keep it up! I’m rooting for you.

    Like

  6. Rusty says:

     Hey Fizz:
         Ouch!!! I must say the last one I had wasn’t too bad though but the one before that was a humdinger and it hurt like the dickens. So sorry to hear that you live with pain dear, that can’t be good. Some days I get twinges from arthritis but nothing I can’t live with YET. I have the rheumatoid kind and the cold really bothers it. I have seen people a lot worse so I try not to complain. I only take something for the pain if I have a really bad day.
         Well dear I hope you have a great weekend. Take care and God bless………Rusty  ((HUGS))

    Like

  7. bamacatlover says:

    I am so glad you had a good mammogram experience, but I’m sorry you’re still having pain. Blessing  for a restful night, Sidney

    Like

  8. Cat says:

    you got to see the pics? I am so envious – ya know – next year I’m going to ask if I can see them – only once has it hurt me – most of the time just awkward – and of course lately hurts my back & knee to pretty much do anything –

    Like

  9. Cynical says:

    It really is a good idea to start the preventative health regimen early.  Good for you.  Are you going to post the pictures soon?  I think I’m far enough away that I can ask that without too much fear.Peace, Doc

    Like

  10. JoAnn says:

    Sorry ’bout ya neck and upper back.  Hope you’re better soon.  Mammos really aren’t that bad – but I’m glad mine’s done for another year!  Hugs

    Like

  11. Shelly says:

    did your boobies smile pretty in the photos?  tee hee ha ha… Hope your body is feeling like a 21 year old again soon!  ttfn
     

    Like

  12. Rita says:

    I’m glad your boobs didn’t hurt, but sorry your other body parts did :(
    I haven’t had one in years, if there is something growing, I don’t want to know about it.
    I know, wrong way to look at it, but that’s how I feel.
    Enjoy your weekend
    Hi to Papa

    Like

  13. R U Serious says:

    Your’re mad because I didn’t get a picture of his new ‘bells’!!!!!  Yes, one on each side!!
     
    Have a GREAT weekend Fizz!!!!!

    Like

Care to Comment?

