A win for Greyhounds!

I own two lovely and wonderful greyhounds. Because of that, I have been involved in greyhound causes.

Greyhounds win this election: http://www.aspca.org/site/PageServer?pagename=media_newsalert110708#1

How exciting is that?!?! I’m so thrilled. As a member of Grey2K and Greyhound Pets, just so excited.

If you don’t know about what Greyhounds go through, you should. They are kenneled 23 hours a day, if they are in an indoor kennel. If they are outdoor kenneled, they are 24/7.

They are all underfed. I don’t know how these animals can run like they do when they are as starved as they are. Most will eat their own feces, because they were so starved. Once you start feeding them and take care of the, they continue this because they are always hungry. Always.

All greyhounds are quiet and gentle. They mind to the point of absurdity and have a wonderful disposition. They have to. When they were pups if they misbehaved or were aggressive towards other dogs, they were culled (killed). As they were older, if they misbehaved, they were beaten and abused.

Both of my dogs will go to that “greyhound place” if they get yelled at. The “greyhound place” is them standing there with blank eyes and not moving (much like deer in headlights) until they feel it’s safe enough to move.

They are the most devoted dogs I’ve ever seen. They’ll follow Papa or I around every where. They are very loyal and give nothing but love. They need almost constant reassurance so they will come to you to be petted or loved so that they know they are good dogs.

These dogs… they are the best behaved dogs I’ve ever known. And… all my friends and family say the same thing… they can’t believe how well behaved they are. And… they have a good disposition to boot.

There’s long been a misconception that greyhounds need a place to run and that they need a lot of exercise… not so at all… they are really big couch potatoes… My girls spend a lot of their time sleeping, either on their belly or their back.

When we got them… they knew nothing. It took a year for our first female to not jump and freak out when the Ice machine in the freezer dropped ice. They don’t like loud noises, unless it’s rock and roll and they’re “dancing” (hopping up and down on the back legs).

They are just love… the epitome of Gods love for us in a way that we’ll understand.

— Fizz —

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Pets, Critters & Pests!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A win for Greyhounds!

  1. Beth says:

    A lovely post Fizz.  Thanks!

    Like

  2. JoAnn says:

    I’ve read stories about how greyhounds are treated and it never ceases to break my heart.  You have won a special place in my heart dear friend.  Now, put a few oldies on and let those sweet girls dance!  Big Hugs

    Like

  3. Babblelot says:

    I am so glad you have two wonderful companions. I betthey feel blessed.

    Like

  4. Teri says:

    It is so very sad what "civilized" human beings put these 4 legged people through!!  My heart breaks every time I see the Humane Society commercial!  Thank you for your part in the solution!
    God BlessYou
    Teri

    Like

  5. CAROL says:

    Dogs or anima

    Like

  6. R U Serious says:

    Bonnie actually likes her ‘Dancing Baby Hippo’ outfit!!!  She didn’t want to give it up.  But hey!!  It was my turn!!!
     
    Have a great weekend with yours dogs!!!

    Like

  7. Leona says:

    Oh rock and roll and dancing puppy dogs, what fun that must be! I had the most adorable doggie that danced to one particular ringtone on my cell phone with my daughter, Jordyn. They were the silliest cutest things dancing and clowning around together.

    Like

  8. Cindy says:

    This helps me understand why so many in our Madison neighborhood have Greyhounds.  One lady has 3 and we see another couple walk 5 of them each morning.  They’re all very lucky dogs, yours included!

    Like

  9. Cynical says:

    Our immediate household specialized in adopting northern breeds, but Annie’s cousin in Carmel (close to Indianapolis) adopted such that she always has two, and in Illinois, a neighbor and flying buddy always seemed to have a least three.  I didn’t know that they didn’t need much room, as both of the people I just mentioned had either a huge lot or a small farm.  The Greyhounds always seemed to be having a great time running around.  Apparently they didn’t need it, but liked it anyway.  I greatly approve of people who adopt pets rather than buying purebreds.  They are truly saviors.Peace, Doc

    Like

  10. Cat says:

    kudos to you for becoming involved – we can’t save/correct everything but that shouldn’t stop us forom what we can do and do well!

    Like

Care to Comment?

