Great Expectations…

My boss wrote two others & I a letter stating that he is disappointed in our performance pertaining to a certain thing and we needed to do better. We are the top 3 performers in our department. Well, we were before he took over as the head dood in charge.

He then stated that we were to spend 2 to 4 hours a work week doing this thing that he wants us to do. That’s in addition to the approximate 50+ hours of work he already gives us.

Frankly… I’m so exhausted and wore out from trying to accomplish everything that I need to do, that I have little emotion regarding this statement. I’ve become tired of trying to show that I’m not only capable, but a really great, hard working, person. I’m just going to have to be a disappointment. It doesn’t matter what I come up with, he’ll always find a way to review it in front of others as tho it’s ‘not right’. You know, perceptions. 

I do make really good money and that makes me feel like I do have to take a certain level of BS regarding this type of stuff. And, the job is a good job. I like it. I don’t mind busting a sweat while working my butt off at a desk job. This is how I am. Full throttle, the peddle to the metal. I don’t mind busting a sweat when working the job. It’s who I am.

It’s hard, tho, because I really do like him as a person. I don’t like his managerial techniques. He’s a very black or white kinda guy, and there are grey areas in life. We all know that, unfortunately he does refuse to acknowledge this fact. Plus… he wants you to do so much that it’s hard to do the whole thing. You just cannot do the job that he wants you to do and get everything done that needs to get done.

On to something else.

This Monday I find out the results of those stupid wires hanging out of my head for 3 days. I’ll let you know on Monday night’s blog.

Saturday is the International Quilt Exhibition here in Houston, and I’m going. This is a must do event for me. Last year I went and I was just completely amazed. I didn’t have my camera, so I didn’t get what I should have. So, this year I’m going to be taking my camera and I’ll get some slick photo’s of some really great quilts.

Last year there was this huge Angel, about 6 feet high, made of 1 inch by 1 inch squares and each of these squares was a photo from somewhere on Earth and then the photo was embedded onto fabric. This woman traveled all over the world taking photos for this angel. She called it “Angel of Peace”. I can tell you, these shots don’t even remotely convey how absolutely beautiful that quilt is.

These quilts are so amazing, it’s worth my effort (which is significant as I am very reclusive other than going to work). And, I fully intend to spend about 6 hours looking at the quilts. The show is 1 city block by 3 city blocks just for Quilts. Vendor booths are another 1 city block by 3 city blocks. It’ll take a good part of Saturday. We’re starting out at 10am.

Here’s a great video on old time Quilting.

I must away, dear friends. It is close to my bedtime and I need some rest. These bones and brains need to be refreshed.

Peace, love and blessings

— Fizz —

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Great Expectations…

  1. Beth says:

    I bet that will be a sight to see.  Something I would enjoy going to for sure.

    Like

  2. Joe says:

    Sorry for the pressure at work I can imagine that being hard to take.  I’ve worked under such people though not behind a desk…no matter where it can be tough no matter how nice htey can be at other times.  Grace to you.  That quilt does look amazing BTW.  Since my grandmothers both passed away I’ve had nothing in the quilt department in a long, long time.

    Like

  3. JoAnn says:

    I am so glad I’m retired. The last 18 years I worked I had the absolute best job with the absolute best boss – I wrote my own ticket.  Before that I had bosses that could not be pleased no matter how hard ya tried.  Very frustrating.  Hope you get good results from the brain wires!  I love quilt shows and you get to see some of the most beautiful quilts.   I’m looking forward to the photos – be sure to take a lot of ’em.  Get a good night’s resst – tomorrow’s Friday.  Hugs

    Like

  4. Babblelot says:

    I remember being told years ago not to give 150% as it made everyone else there in fear of making the quota. She told me to pace myself as the boss will expect more an more. It sort of made sense cause I couldn’t always do 150% and if he wanted more I couldn’t do it. Just one of those things that pop in my head remembering. You’ll do fine and get some rest. I pray the tests turn out fine. Hugs!

    Like

  5. Leona says:

    Uggggghh! That’s terrible about the outrageous expectations on the job, especially since you like what you do. And, since you like him otherwise. I hope the test results are good, I will be praying for you.
     
    Happy Halloween and have a good weekend.

    Like

  6. Ann says:

    About the quilt convention – I heard about it from someone here because they weren’t sure the conventon place would be available after H. Ike. Guess they got it cleaned up. Good!
     
    Best,
    Nan
     

    Like

  7. Cindy says:

    About that boss of yours.  Does he want you to work more to make HIM look better?  That’s the kind of boss I used to have.  He took all the credit and rarely gave us any incentive to keep working harder…except for giving us more work to do.  With him, the more you could do, the more he gave you.
     
    I love going to quilt shows too.  I know exactly what you’re saying about the amazing work quilters can do with an idea, fabric, needle and thread.  I don’t quilt, but I really appreciate the work/love that goes into each and every stitch.  I’m looking forward to seeing your pictures.

    Like

  8. Shelly says:

    Enjoy the quilt show!
    About boss dood.   I don’t think you should assume that you’ll never please him.  I would have a sit down FACE TO FACE, not a letter no electronic anything, face to face.  Explain to him you read his letter and that your concerned.  As you do want to make the boss happy and since that’s him well you want to make him happy.  Your job is to make the boss man look good.  It’s what all of our jobs are.    Explain to him that you enjoy your job you don’t mind the sweating and rolling of the sleeves, you actually thrive on it.  However in order for you to be a successful employee in his eyes you feel you must spend a wee more time doing xyz rather than abc.  And you know that ABC is important but his focus seems to be your lacking in xyz.   So explain to him how you plan on making it all work and see what he says. 
     
    Boss doods love it when you want to make them look better.  I know first hand believe me!
     
    Take care and BOO!
    ttfn
     

    Like

  9. Patricia says:

    I followed your links…that "Angel of Peace" is really amazing…a beautiful quilt…a lot of workd there…enjoyed the video, too…I’ve only hand quilted once…have used a machine for quilting…the lazy, fast way…lol…but it can be lovely, too…that sounds like a fantastic quilt show…I’d be in heaven…
    with the job, you can only do what you are able to do…if you are working all those hours I hope you are being compensated for it…that’s a crushing workweek…

    Like

Care to Comment?

