Loving Memories…

On October 10th, 1999 @ 8:30 PM the world lost a wonderful person, Patricia Bailey.

As of today, Nana has been gone from my life for 9 years. I miss her greatly. She was not just my Nana, my grandma, but also my very best friend.

She was the one person that I could trust to give me the honest answer. Not the one I wanted to hear, and not necessarily the kindest, but the honest one. It was always said with love and care, she always took care to not hurt you.

She was a very kind and loving person. She would give you the shirt of her back if you needed it. She always offered to help, if you were in need. For most of the years of my life, her and Papa used their vacation to go to Florida and work on her mothers home, it was always in a state of needing repair.

She did not tolerate people messing with her family. One story in particular strikes me right now… Gram, her grandmother, was wheelchair bound. She came to find out that her Cousin, was over medicating Gram… essentially trying to kill her. Well, the rest of the family went up there and Nana got it straightened out. All I ever heard about it was “Patty got it straightened out”. And, she did. No one worried when she was in charge.

When she went to the store, she would buy something for me before she would think of buying something for herself. When we went out to eat with others, she always insisted on paying. If she was your friend, then you were one lucky person. There was no better friend than she and I try to emulate her as much as I can.

So, here’s to you, Nana. I love you, I miss you terribly and I’m so glad that you were in my life even if it wasn’t as long as I would have liked.

nana_all_my_love copy

Nana_Papa_Wedding_AK-UC127

nana&papa_2 copy 

Appreciate your mom and dad while you have them, for when they’re gone you’ll miss them terribly.

— Fizz —

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Loving Memories…

  1. Duckie says:

    Good for you, sweetness.
     
    Eileen

    Like

  2. Beth says:

    What a heartfelt tribute to your wonderful Nana.  You were very blessed to have her in your life.  The pictures proove that she was beautiful to look at as well as being beautiful inside.
    I agree, we should all treat each other with love and respect, as if it will be the last time we will see them.
    My thoughts are with you at this sad time.

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    I have to admit that the thought of losing my mom in particular is not something I can think about easily.  You’re right about the fact that you don’t always know what you’ve got until it’s gone or maybe you do but it doesn’t mean you expect it to end when it does necessarily.  This really is a wonderful tribute.

    Like

  4. JoAnn says:

    What a wonderful tribute to your nana!  Those memories never fade and are more precious with each passing year.  She was a beautiful lady.  Thanks for sharing her with us.  Hugs

    Like

  5. Babblelot says:

    I think you are just like your Nana. Wonderful person, friend and honest.I was so honored to woodburn her picture. I could feel the love from yourpost. I must say you are so wonderful to be with your Papa. I know anyonewho comes to know you will be blessed. You rock girlie! HUGS!!!

    Like

  6. Cynical says:

    I know how much the loss hurts and how bittersweet the memories are.  You have my sincere sympathy.Peace, Doc

    Like

  7. Cindy says:

    She sounds like a real jewel.  I can see why you miss her so much. 

    Like

Care to Comment?

