Alien Message Receiver

On Friday I have to go to the Neurologist and get wired for an EEG of my brain. I have been having a lot of random muscle twitching and we want to make sure that it’s my Fibromyalgia or if it’s small brain seizures. It’s most likely the Fibro, but the Neurologist wants to make sure there’s nothing else going on.

It’s actually going to be interesting. I’ll have many wires glued to my scalp and then my head will be wrapped with gauze. I plan on going to work right after the procedure and then going to work Monday before getting all the stuff removed. I’m going shopping today for either a head scarf or a hat that is nice enough to wear at work as a covering.

I’ve been telling my colleagues so that they are aware. I don’t want them to totally freak out when I come in with all of these wires and a battery pack. I’ve gotten some interesting comments.

One comment was that I should also bring in some aluminum foil so that I can block the Alien Brain Waves. My response was that they already live with me and barf where I walk at night.

Another comment was to use the day as a "freebie" and accidentally dump liquid on  people I don’t like. I told that guy that it was a great idea and I would start with him first.

Also, I have been told that I’ll be the bride of Frankenstein. That was lovely. I told them to beware, I might turn into a mutant robot and "accidentally" kick their butt. Anyway, I already married the guy, murdered him and put him in my back garden.

Today, as my team lead kindly put it, I will be going in search of "head gear". This is like when you first get your braces, gone bad.  I’m going to look at hats and fancy scarves to wrap on my head. I’d rather look like a cancer patient than a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle!

I’m having a good time with the whole thing. Why not? If I don’t I’ll worry and there’s nothing to be worried about. This is just a sanity check to make sure. I doubt that the results will be anything but normal. Well, ok, normal in the medical sense, not the mental sense. Tongue out

I will take photos of the final product. I’m sure they’ll get pretty annoyed with me if I try to take pic’s while they’re adding the electrodes.

Have a good one!

— Fizz —

About Fizz

*I'm a Northern Girl livin' in the South. *I graduated with a BS in Geophysics from Michigan Technological University (MTU). *I have critters: 2 dogs & 1 cat. *I love thunder and rain days. Too much sunshine gets on my nerves. (How I survive in Texas I do not know!) *I'm trying to remove swearing from my vocabulary (Good Luck!). *I'm the last single in my group of friends. The rest of the turn coats got married. *Sadly, the above friends are now procreating. Now the world will have yet more strange and twisted individuals that will have to go to an Engineering School to survive. *Yoopers do exist. Look on a map. *Marvin the Martian and I have a lot in common. We're both cranky when crossed and generally like our own way. *I will never be a model! (Thank god, that starvation stuff has GOT to be painful!!!). *I am not Fat! (Even though that little voice behind my right ear might tell me that every single day). *I am normal. Whatever that means! *Yes, you can be smart and not be a geek. *I've been told I'm not boring. We'll see. *Much to my irritation, I have been described as Eccentric. *I cannot spell! *Being Single is a frame of mind. *Who said life was fair?
This entry was posted in Me... Because it's all about Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Alien Message Receiver

  1. Shelly says:

    I’m sorry that you have to go through all of this.   I hope that it all comes back with positive results!!  I am glad that you have humor about this as well.  However should someone start to give ya a hard time… call me I’m ready!   Might wanna warn them by wearing a sign that says…. Fiesty Polish Princess has got my back and she’s not afraid to Kick your A$$!!!
    tee hee ha ha xoxoxo

    Like

  2. Joe says:

    Isn’t it funny that as advanced as we’ve become in medical technology there’s still some things that seem rather primitive.  I guess on the bright side they’re not drilling or putting leeches on you!  A good attitude does wonders.  I pray that the results come back clean, nobody can hold you down Fizz!

    Like

  3. bamacatlover says:

    Oh Fizz, you are having some real trials right now and your sense of humor keeps you going. God bless you as you jump this hurdle. You are still in my prayers.  hugs, Sidney

    Like

  4. CAROL says:

    OH so glad you are taking a pic of it all.. I mean I never thought they actually sent people out with all that stuff on. I thought they did the test and then you left. WOW.. an excuse to go SHOPPING is never a bad thing.. Hope you find some FABULOUSLY GORGEOUS scarf to cover it all with.. GOOD LUCK on the test.  : )

    Like

  5. Babblelot says:

    I hear ya on the muscle twitches. Oh gosh you have to have the electrodes? Oh please don’t let it be brain seisures Lord. I have twitches and ripples and even popping like popcorn and it’ll run up the leg. Real weird feeling. Without the pain pills it’s awful. I have not found celtic sea salt yet. I best order it on the internet. I bought some multiplex with iodine today for old people 😉 Ok, over 50 they call it. When we finally find out our future of our muscle problems we should go on a road trip fishing on the coast! You stinker you made me cry today. The afgan is absolutly beautiful! My favorite colors and nice an thick! I do not know how to crochet but I do knitting. Thank you my girl. I will think of you everytime I look at it or snuggle with it! A nice scarf wrapped on your head with a hat will do just fine. You’ll look like Sophia Lorren. She used to wear that with big sunglasses. Keep me informed and like you said it’s probably the Fibro. {{HUGS}}

    Like

  6. Sherry says:

    Hi! I came from Babblelots after I read what she wrote about you. You are a sweet lady and friend according to her and I believe her. That was a sweet thing you did for her!
    I’m sorry your are having problems. I hope it isn’t brain seizures as well. Most likely it is the fibro which is a pain in itself. I do hope you feel better soon.
    I agree, a nice frilly scaf and sun glasses and you will look mauvalous!!!
    Take care
    Hugs
    Sherry 

    Like

  7. Cindy says:

    I love your outlook on this.  I’d be scared to pieces.  Hope all goes well and you don’t intercept any alien transmissions.
     
    Now I know why you miss fall in Michigan so much.  I didn’t know you were from Houghton.  Many years ago, on our way to Copper Harbor, we crossed the bridge at Houghton-Hancock.  That was the most beautiful fall color I’ve ever seen.  I still remember all those red maples on the hillside.  Just gorgeous.

    Like

  8. Beth says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with you.  You are very brave!!!

    Like

  9. Mimi says:

    Hope and pray all goes well for you sweetie.  Houston is a good place to be from.  I left there when I was a year younger than you, have lived in this small town for 30 years and love it.  My oldest daughter lives in Michigan and she loves it there.  Take care. 

    Like

  10. Patricia says:

    Here I am laughing when you are going through something so serious…you’ve made it so funny…you’re going to be fine…take good care…

    Like

  11. Cynical says:

    I seriously hope for the best outcome for you and that your portable EEG doesn’t operate at multiple or derivitive frequencies of any of the equipment at work.  *evil grin*Peace, Doc

    Like

  12. Babblelot says:

    Hope all went well today for you. Why do you have to leave the wires on?Just asking. maybe need to do a second one maybe? I hope they see nothingin yer brain. I mean nothing bad not just nothing. I have the popcorn, so how’syour reception?? Just kidding sweets.

    Like

Care to Comment?

